New Year… and finally a new post!

January 8, 2008 at 3:11 pm 28 comments

Sorry, you know how it happens – Christmas comes and you become too busy with living life to blog about it! So, to catch up, here are some highlights (and the lowlights) of the last few weeks…

– Spending time with my good friends. Yeah, we see each other all the time, but those group Christmas meals are still great fun

– Catching up with people you don’t see much. Christmas parties and gathering are a great way to catch up with people you won’t make the effort to see but you are still mildly interested in, you know the ones – pre-facebook you’d have no idea where in the world they are, now you know that they are freezing in Boston but have no idea of anything deeper than that.

– Going to the beach. When my British friends say to me ‘how can it feel Christmasy when it’s cold’, I always tell them that it doesn’t feel Christmasy until you have Boxing Day in the sun on the beach.

– Getting  food poisoning. One of those long leasurely lunches with friends turned into three of us being on drips in hospital… a drastic way to shed Christmas weight!

– New Year in Jamaica = start of the soca season. Excellent!!! So have enjoyed some soca at parties and am now needing to get into the gym swing in order to be ready for Carnival 08…

– Being back at work. Hmmm, will say no more on that one now!

Entry filed under: On nothing in particular.

On my way to work this morning, I …

28 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mad bull  |  January 8, 2008 at 6:41 pm

    Glad u enjoyed yourself! Than God for a post from u! Whew! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. owen  |  January 9, 2008 at 10:12 am

    live by the food die by the food. happy new year

    Reply
  • 3. Adrian  |  January 9, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    lol yes, catching up with friends aint as exciting now that facebook is around.

    Reply
  • 4. Leon  |  January 10, 2008 at 3:38 am

    Happy New Year! Glad to see that you enjoyed the holidays.

    Reply
  • 5. SE  |  January 10, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    Methinks I found another blog to peruse during the day. Oh where will it end?

    I’m surprisingly underwhelmed by Trini carnival. I’d envisioned withdrawal and jealousy of my friends who were going, but I haven’t been in a couple of years and I don’t miss it. Cropover is another story. Hehe.

    Reply
  • 6. dalia  |  January 10, 2008 at 2:24 pm

    never been to carnival, not sure i can handle all the bacchanal! lol my friend goes religiously every year, and then regales me with stories of debauchery and drunkenness. i can’t dance with a stranger at a club, much less wine on a hot & sweaty man in the street!

    food poisoning is the pits, to say the absolute least. glad you’re better!

    your british friends have obviously never experienced christmas in the sunshine. it’s a truly blessed thing. they should try it, sometime…

    Reply
  • 7. Jamaican Dawta  |  January 11, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    Happy New Year! Glad you had a great time. Sorry about the food poisoning part. I know how that feels, minus the drip.

    Reply
  • 8. Stunner  |  January 11, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    Pretty eventful holiday for you I see!

    Reply
  • 9. Cam  |  January 11, 2008 at 2:54 pm

    Hi!
    I’m new to this whole thing. I don’t have a blog–in law shcool–but I read all of your blogs religiously. It makes for great procrastination and it usually far more interesting than establishing tort liability.
    Anyhoo–I’ve been looking forward to new posts from you and all your fellow Caribbean bloggers. Glad to see you enjoyed the holidays.
    Happy New Year!

    Reply
  • 10. TravellingBeaver  |  January 12, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    Sounds like you’re having a ball ! Happy new year !

    Reply
  • 11. experienceaurie  |  January 12, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    I glad you had tons of fun in the sun & was able to go on the F.P. Diet at the same time. hehe. But seriously, I’m glad that all is well. Always great to get my read on at your blog home.

    Reply
  • 12. scratchie  |  January 14, 2008 at 8:11 am

    Sounds like you had a ball. Full of memories I see. All the best for the New Year.

    Reply
  • 13. Cranky Putz  |  January 16, 2008 at 3:56 pm

    Great recap….i think food poisioning is an excellent way to get rid of the unwanted pounds lol!

    Reply
  • 14. Dr. D.  |  February 12, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    Just passing by to say hi and I note the blogging frequency is down….I wonder if you are still in Trini?

    Reply
  • 15. Yamfoot  |  February 25, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    Hello??????? You too busy (like I was a few weeks ago!)
    What’s up?

    Reply
  • 16. Dr. D.  |  May 5, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    Looks like you have joined (like myself) the ranks of the retired….

    Hope all is well with you.

    Reply
  • 17. SOULJAH BOY  |  July 6, 2008 at 1:06 am

    Just wanted to drop you a line to say how much I have thoroughly enjoyed reading your blog. I am in the military and currently stationed in S.Korea, I miss jamaica terribly and being so far away I hardly get a chance to see my wife and kids in florida (maybe once or twice a year) much less squeeze in a trip to yard. The closest I get is hearing my wife tell me about how much she enjoys her frequent trips home (any chance she gets!) and listening to the kids try out their jamaican accents (daughter and son both born in the states). Reading your accounts of your experiences back on the rock left me reaching for my Bob Marley CDs….Thank you and keep it up!

    Reply
  • 18. Кореш  |  May 7, 2009 at 6:08 am

    Great post!

    Reply
  • 19. Kay Pee  |  August 5, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    Hey
    Just as I discovered your blog, seems you’ve stopped blogging…I was SOOOO enjoying the read

    Reply
  • 20. Kay Pee  |  September 20, 2009 at 7:27 pm

    Kingston Girl where ar eyou? Missing your blog

    Reply
  • 21. VERNON BALMER JR.  |  September 26, 2009 at 2:59 pm

    Homeless, Due To A Conspiracy To Violate Civil Rights, Obstruct Justice, And Harass
    VERNON BALMER JR.
    GENERAL DELIVERY
    HONOLULU, HAWAII 96820

    Reply
  • 22. JOie  |  October 6, 2009 at 4:27 pm

    hey there i like your blog why have u stopped bloggging?

    Reply
  • 23. Anne  |  January 28, 2010 at 7:49 pm

    There is no where in the world that parties like Jamaicans over Christmas to New Year… it’s party, party, party

    Reply
  • 24. Felix  |  March 27, 2011 at 12:18 am

    Dear Kinston girl

    Would you mind to click my site to be my first Jamaica visitor ?

    my blog

    Reply
  • 25. Rum and Relaxation  |  July 24, 2011 at 11:26 pm

    Time just flies. Cannot wait for Christmas and all the associated fun to arrive for 2011.

    Reply
  • 26. Andrew  |  October 19, 2012 at 4:59 am

    Very nice. Two countries of Paradox – Japan and Jamaica. Check it out:

    http://jablogz.com/2012/10/two-countries-of-paradox-japan-and-jamaica/ and keep up the good writing.

    Reply
  • 27. clt2154  |  October 15, 2015 at 12:14 pm

    http://theink.nyc/the-new-bronx-a-young-jamaican-mothers-sacrifice/

    Reply
  • 28. lindsaywheeler7719  |  April 9, 2016 at 6:03 pm

    T.V.licencing does not cater for the P.C.user and thats their problem.Example:I’m in my neighbours house watching live BBC online,wirelessly routed fr Click http://pepij.nl/youme10070

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
January 2008
S M T W T F S
« Dec    
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,273 hits

