On my way to work this morning, I …

December 17, 2007 at 2:22 pm 10 comments

… drove behind 4 cars who had only one brake light working

… drove behind 2 cars with no brake lights working

… narrowly avoided squashing the toes of the window cleaner who wouldn’t take no for an answer, despite the fact that it was a busy intersection and the lights had changed

… was very happy that it was school holidays as I was running late and still got to work early

… listened to the Love Actually soundtrack to encourage the Christmasy feeling

… ignored my collegues who were calling my cell phone – I was on my way, it wasn’t late, what could they want?

… yelled lots of rude words at the man in the brand new BMW who felt he could just pull in front of me with no warning – I’m not scared, I’d hit his car… apart from the fact that I need mine to be working at the moment! 

… and the whole journey took less than 15 minutes! 

Entry filed under: On life as it is only in Jamaica.

Winter cold New Year… and finally a new post!

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cranky Putz  |  December 18, 2007 at 11:14 am

    a lil laugh at the love actually cd….

    I do not feel at all christmassy this year….maybe Ill give it a go too…

    Reply
  • 2. irie diva  |  December 19, 2007 at 1:28 pm

    jus watch this christmas, that shud do the trick…

    Reply
  • 3. Adrian  |  December 20, 2007 at 11:54 am

    lol yup school is out and the traffic in the morning is definetly better!

    Reply
  • 4. Leon  |  December 20, 2007 at 3:34 pm

    Interesting. Be careful out there.

    Reply
  • 5. marangand  |  December 21, 2007 at 4:26 pm

    Like you,, I am loving the no traffic mornings……

    Reply
  • 6. Stunner  |  December 23, 2007 at 10:49 am

    It is an adventure every time I head out on the road! It’s like a car game where you have to avoid obstacles. The good thing now is that school is out so the morning traffic is non-existent!

    Reply
  • 7. Esteban Agosto Reid  |  December 25, 2007 at 10:41 am

    Stress and exasperation ! ! Be careful ! Nonetheless,have a IRIE XMAS and a HAPPY NEW YEAR !

    Reply
  • 8. Sally Lomax  |  December 29, 2007 at 5:10 pm

    Happy Christmas and New Year!!

    Reply
  • 9. CoolDestiny  |  January 3, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    I thouroughly enjoyed your post and hoped the man in the new BMW wasn’t my father … he’s a road hog.

    As it was my first Christmas with my family in my new home, I was totally excited, decorations, tree, lights on the roof and all! I cooked up a storm, made sorrel and was pooped out on Boxing Day! But I totally enjoyed it.

    Reply
  • 10. Kim  |  January 7, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    I adored Love Actually! I watched it while I was in Holland with my girlfriends and we all had a good laugh and cry 🙂 I’d forgotten how much you could pack into a morning drive in Jamaica. You’d think that Americans would drive better but that’s a laugh. It’s like I’m taking my life into my hands everyday… at least in Jamaica you knew it was more likely to be the cabbies and bus drivers, but here it could be anybody from the little old lady in the huge helluva Cadillac or that Hispanic looking hombre who might not have any insurance 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
December 2007
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,235 hits

