Winter cold

December 12, 2007 at 11:44 am 4 comments

I’m not impressed. I seem to have got myself one of those nasty winter colds, with coughing and sneezing and generally not feeling very good stuff going on. I started last week, and I was off work in bed for 2 days. I made it out of bed on Friday night (hello? Christmas season? Parties to attend!) and was not able to do any justice to the good wine on offer that night. I hibernated for the next few days and made it back to work on Monday. But I still feel less than 100% and my voice is missing in action.

I’m confused. I don’t know where this has come from. I’m normally healthy. I’ve been eating loads of tangerines recently so I’m full of vitamin C.

All I can think is that I am having a throw back. My body has realised that I haven’t had a nasty winter cold in 4 years, since I moved back to Jamaica. And has decided that it is time for me to have one to recollect every winter in Britain.

Maybe I need to go and lie on the beach this weekend, to remind my body that I’m back in the Caribbean and that this winter cold needs to move on out of me.

Entry filed under: On nothing in particular.

Secret Single Habits On my way to work this morning, I …

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jamaican Dawta  |  December 12, 2007 at 4:13 pm

    I’m sorry you’ve been under the weather. Hope you feel much better soon. Continue to load up on the Vitamin C.

    Reply
  • 2. Stunner  |  December 14, 2007 at 9:31 pm

    I hope you feel better soon, because you are right, there are a lot of parties going on this season! Seems you picked up a bug, just keep taking your vitamins and fluids.

    Reply
  • 3. Esteban Agosto Reid  |  December 15, 2007 at 5:02 pm

    A good remedy is some old fashioned Jamaican white rum with a little lime or lemon juice . Please sip this concoction patiently or slowly (in other words nursingly). Trust me ! It will definiitely knock the flu out of your system.Try it nuh ! It wuk all di time ! Respect !

    Reply
  • 4. Leon  |  December 20, 2007 at 3:36 pm

    I agree with Esteban. My grandaunt used that on me once.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
December 2007
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,196 hits

