Prophecy?

October 3, 2007 at 9:23 am 16 comments

TiggerWhen I was 19, I received a phone call on my birthday from my big brother. ‘Do you have a boyfriend at the moment?’ ‘No’, I replied.

‘Well be careful. You could turn into an old spinster living in a little house surrounded by loads of cats.’

Fast forward a few years and it is my (cough cough) birthday this weekend. And last weekend, I went and got a cat for my little house which I live in on my own.

Is his prophecy starting to come true? The cat and I have a good relationship so far. He doesn’t cause mess, he doesn’t take up all the bed, he comes home for dinner every night. Maybe I’ll happily embrace the prophecy!!!

However, the man and the cat get along well so far. Maybe I can just have half the prophecy. Live in a house surrounded by cats and with a man who loves me. Who knows what the next year has in store for me!

Entry filed under: On dating and relationships or lack there of, On trying to become a propertied young lady.

Ready for mas again!! Why oh why?

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jamaican Dawta  |  October 3, 2007 at 9:34 am

    Hi, coming out of lurk mode to say that I’ve been enjoying your stories. Have an extremely Happy Birthday when it comes.

    While there’s nothing wrong with staying single, if that’s your choice, I think your brother was just being concerned. That’s what big brothers do, especially to little sisters. He just wants you to be happy.

    Reply
  • 2. Irie Diva  |  October 3, 2007 at 11:05 am

    i’ll smile and try to think happy thoughts that you will indeed have your cake and eat it too…

    Reply
  • 3. The Dutch Pot  |  October 4, 2007 at 5:21 am

    All the best for next year! Prophecy? 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. marangand  |  October 4, 2007 at 8:39 am

    Did your bro tell you which year his prophesy will come thru??? Joke!
    Enjoy your cat or (cats if you end up with more) and enjoy “the man” too……

    Reply
  • 5. Adrian  |  October 4, 2007 at 9:28 am

    that cat looks old.. you got it last week you say?

    you and the man sound content, you don’t have to worry about the prophecy :p

    Reply
  • 6. Kingston Girl  |  October 4, 2007 at 9:31 am

    hopefully his prophecy is as accurate as dr phinn’s!!

    it’s not a good picture of him but the cat is about 4 1/2 – he was my parents’ cat, but for various reasons he’s now moved in with me.

    Reply
  • 7. Simplenigma  |  October 4, 2007 at 10:13 am

    Noooooooooooo. LOL. Not The Cat Lady, please.

    Reply
  • 8. scratchie  |  October 4, 2007 at 10:33 am

    Good luck with both cat and man. All the very best for the upcoming year. Enjoy the birthday when it gets here.

    Reply
  • 9. Dr. D.  |  October 4, 2007 at 8:15 pm

    Happy birthday when it comes.

    I won’t bother to take on the prophecy, just to say I thinks dogs are far nicer…cats sneaky, feisty and ungrateful at times….dogs are 100% loyal.

    Reply
  • 10. Stunner  |  October 5, 2007 at 9:31 pm

    Cat and a man, well at least the prophesy isn’t true since there is a man in the picture now.

    Reply
  • 11. madbull  |  October 6, 2007 at 8:08 am

    He said a house full of cats, didn’t he? Just don’t get anymore and the prophecy cannot be fulfilled! 🙂

    Reply
  • 12. Gela  |  October 6, 2007 at 3:01 pm

    Happy Birthday KG!

    Reply
  • 13. mad bull  |  October 7, 2007 at 2:28 pm

    Happy birthday, KG! Hope you’re having a ball!

    Reply
  • 14. Leon  |  October 9, 2007 at 1:59 am

    Well, the man could leave. So the prophecy can be fulfilled!

    Reply
  • 15. experienceaurie  |  October 10, 2007 at 8:41 pm

    Best Wishes for your Birthday.

    Reply
  • 16. JamRock  |  October 22, 2007 at 6:46 am

    Well all I can say is, one is high maintenance and the other pretty independent – go figure! Which one can’t you live without? lol
    No, seriously, all in due time – enjoy your cat(s) and the right man will fall into place – its all about faith not some prophecy from your wretched bro! lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
October 2007
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,273 hits

