Driving

September 19, 2007 at 3:25 pm 8 comments

Does anyone else who lives in Kingston play games on their drive to work in the morning? You know the ones – how many times have I nearly been killed this morning? How many police cars have raced past me with their sirens on and only one officer in there? How many window cleaners have I had to tell to leave me alone?

just wondering!

On a different but related note, I was on my way out with a friend on Friday night and we were stopped at the traffic lights near Devon House. A man appears, selling roses at the car window. We wave him on – ‘we are girls who have flowers bought for us, not girls who buy them ourselves’ we tell him. So then a  moment later, he reappears and hands us a rose through the window. This is accompanied by a car horn blowing – apparently the rose was a gift from those men in that car. We smiled, waved and drove off with our rose.

Ah well, at least if blah times get worse, I know that I can at least attract men in a car in the dark!!!

Entry filed under: On dating and relationships or lack there of, On life as it is only in Jamaica.

Feeling blah Ready for mas again!!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Irie Diva  |  September 19, 2007 at 9:30 pm

    hmph

    a tru u white, how nuhbody never buy me none yet?

    ok sounding a tad “badmind” there but whew! finally made it to the end…well i hope not! let me switch and say i finally caught up. have u ever done that? gone back to the beginning of ur blog and read some of the things that you’ve been thru? lol it was a good read. i’m glad to have found this circle of bloggers. im off to some of the mad bulls, island spices, guyana gyals and irie latinos now as i feel i already know them from reading their comments! tho my blog is not really a lifestyle related blog i’d love if you all would add me to your links and take a look at the fashion world…i’m trying to network myself here 🙂 plus you may find an interesting fashion article helping you out every now and then eh….

    i must say im not too keen on going to guyana gyals own just yet…have to get over the fact the my SO just came back from there on a work assignment with a few too close for my liking friends…..hmph!

    Reply
  • 2. Leon  |  September 19, 2007 at 11:33 pm

    I guess playing those games is a good way to cure road rage. I’m still using public transport so I don’t have that luxury. The pushing and squeezing keeps me occupied. Nice guys. Wonder if they’ve done the same were you in a jewellery store?

    Reply
  • 3. Kingston Girl  |  September 20, 2007 at 10:20 am

    Leon: I wonder if they’d have done it in the daylight when they could actually see us, let alone in a more expensive place?!!!

    Diva: Well done – that is a mamouth task! I should go back and re-read myself one day…

    Reply
  • 4. Stunner  |  September 20, 2007 at 12:31 pm

    Everyday I go on the road it’s like a video game, where I have to avoid multiple unexpected obstacles! Insane careless drivers, police cars, giant potholes and windscreen attackers!

    Reply
  • 5. Adrian  |  September 20, 2007 at 6:23 pm

    road rage.. must suppress the evil monster inside!

    Reply
  • 6. Kim  |  September 20, 2007 at 9:43 pm

    Kingston Girl, I told myself that migrating to the U.S. meant that I’d have to abandon my morning games but just to get out my street onto the main road is a major game of Russian roulette, so I can commiserate!

    The whole roses thing reminded me of an ex I had who would buy me roses whenever we had an argument. Sounds sweet right? Until one day my housemates asked me if I was trying to open a flowers nursery *sigh*

    Reply
  • 7. marangand  |  September 21, 2007 at 9:15 am

    Dont forget “how many robot taxi can i avoid hitting today! You know the ones who are driving while looking for their passengers anywhere on the road, and when they find one they just stop right in the middle of the road, no indicating much less pulling over to the side!!!!

    Hey Irie Diva, is not casue she white……that has happened to me before but at the TGIF hope road intersection! Come to think of it,….it was night too, so maybe dem never really see me 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. fiyah  |  September 21, 2007 at 1:43 pm

    @KG: Well it beats the everyday “Yows! Baby doll! Come yah nuh?!” I think it was a nice gesture… even if they couldn’t really see you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
September 2007
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Blog Stats

  • 55,222 hits

