Changes?

September 5, 2007 at 12:49 pm 16 comments

I am in the process of renewing my contract at work at the moment. I wanted to be made permanent, but as a civil servant in the current environment, that wasn’t going to happen today. So a new contract it is. Now one of the problems of a contract is that you don’t get some of the perks you get if you are permanent, and I wanted to be sure exactly what I was entitled to… which resulted in the personnel officer and my boss getting very worried.

Me: So if I am on contract, what is the status re maternity leave?

Personnel: Huh? What?

My Boss: What? Is there something I should know about??

No there is nothing you all should know about. But hey, I’m a female and 30 is approaching soon… I’ve got to know my options!

Entry filed under: On being a working girl.

Go and Vote!!! Feeling blah

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. n'Drea  |  September 5, 2007 at 2:06 pm

    So true about getting all the facts, and it’s your right, too. Wow, your boss sounds really worried. I can just see the expression on their faces.

    Reply
  • 2. bobby  |  September 5, 2007 at 2:43 pm

    They got to be men, no way any woman would react like that…. or would they? hell what do i know just keep your toes cross and don’t give up never know what the future holds. You might just win the lotto

    Reply
  • 3. marangand  |  September 5, 2007 at 2:53 pm

    So you sure there is nothing for them to worry about 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Cranky Putz  |  September 6, 2007 at 10:07 am

    Damn that clock

    Reply
  • 5. fiyah  |  September 6, 2007 at 3:19 pm

    LOL@CP

    Reply
  • 6. Leon  |  September 7, 2007 at 10:35 pm

    Hmmm. Making plans, are we?

    Reply
  • 7. Stunner  |  September 9, 2007 at 11:56 am

    Yep being on staff does have quiet a few benefits! But you need to know all of your entitlements, I have been on staff since I first joind the company I work for and everyday I find out something new about my benefits.

    Reply
  • 8. scratchie  |  September 11, 2007 at 7:33 am

    What was the answer? I can just see the faces now.
    These days more and more companies and government agencies are making fewer distinctions between permanent and contract workers. As a matter of fact some strong questions have been asked recently about the employment status since most contracts run one into the other while the interpretation is that contract employment is for specific task for a specific period. A work around is to break service for a reasonable period but many places just run them one into the other literally creating permanent employment. This brings leave entitlement into question.

    Reply
  • 9. Kingston Girl  |  September 11, 2007 at 9:37 am

    actually personnel was a woman! but she’s married and i’m not so really i shouldn’t be asking those questions…

    and the answer? she doesn’t know!!!

    Reply
  • 10. bobby  |  September 11, 2007 at 6:12 pm

    oooh the married factor forgot about that …. women can be really mean when it comes to that

    Reply
  • 11. experienceaurie  |  September 11, 2007 at 11:31 pm

    I have an employee right now that is with child and it’s not the easiest thing to manage.

    Reply
  • 12. Cool Destiny  |  September 13, 2007 at 12:28 pm

    But is how dem outa orda so? Bright!

    You have a right to know everything you are entitled to. It irks me the way management behaves sometimes.

    Reply
  • 13. Cool Destiny  |  September 13, 2007 at 12:29 pm

    And @ Bobby, men tend to be better at dealing with said situations. Women are not good managers when it comes to females having menstrual camps and pregnancy pains. Sad but true.

    Reply
  • 14. bobby  |  September 13, 2007 at 7:19 pm

    thanks for that heads up …..Cool D

    Reply
  • 15. The Dutch Pot  |  September 15, 2007 at 6:59 am

    Crikey. Personnel does not know what the policies are for maternity leave? Talk about taking the piss. That should be something she readily calls up on her computer screen from a well filed folder entitled Maternity Policy. Actually I am just looking at my last work contract. The matrenity policy is right there. I expect to get the eye from my mother if I say I am pregnant and not married – but at work – hell no!!! None of your damn business….unless we are really good friends. 🙂

    Reply
  • 16. Gela  |  September 15, 2007 at 7:37 am

    Hmm. At this point in time, my mom would happily take a grandchild anyway it comes, whether from wed or unwed mother. Heck, she’s been encouraging me just find any man with with some sperms – as long as at the end of the day, there’ll be a grandchild.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
September 2007
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Blog Stats

  • 55,219 hits

