Go and Vote!!!

August 31, 2007 at 11:07 am 5 comments

And once the  hurricane has past, we are left with the usual post-hurricane issues to deal with. Light and water have been fixed, but the absence of anay fresh fruit and veg is a bit harder to fix right now. And yes, there is also that other post-hurricane situation which has kept me away from my computer for the past few days. You know, the one that comes about because maybe some of the meat you ate somewhere wasn’t keep quite a cold as it should have been, maybe the ice in your drink wasn’t made with bottled water… I think you get the scenario. It’s been three days since I’ve eaten any solid foods now. But I think I’m getting there! I hope so – soup is getting boring.

In other news, the athletics is going well!!!! I will be up early tomorrow to watch the 4×100 events. It is hilarious how newspapers cover events, I was reading the UK Guardian online today and noticed that they think they have a chance in the men’s 4×100 final. Hmmm. I think we must be thinking about different events. As in my humble opinion, it is between us and the US … and as Asafa has something major to prove, my money is on Jamaica.

Please don’t let us down again!

And other than that, it’s elections on Monday. I won’t tell you who to vote for, but I will tell you to get up and go and vote! Remember if you don’t vote, then you have no right to complain about anything related to the way that the country is run for the next 5 years as you had your chance and you didn’t use it. Nuff said!

Entry filed under: On life as it is only in Jamaica.

Normal service has resumed Changes?

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mad bull  |  September 1, 2007 at 11:24 am

    If I was there, I’d definitely vote. Actually I tried getting on the voter’s list but they have this habit of coming to verify my address when I am not there, so that didn’t work. If I was on the list, I would make a point of flying down and voting.
    Oh well… thats another 3 – 400 dollars that will stay in my pocket! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Stunner  |  September 1, 2007 at 10:41 pm

    Things are basically back to normal for me, where post hurricane is concerned. Light, water, meat and ice yyeaahhhh!!

    I won’t be voting, so I guess I’ll be pretty quiet for the next few years. However, I am runninga poll on my last post.

    Reply
  • 3. bobby  |  September 1, 2007 at 11:58 pm

    Bolt did not receive nor pass on the baton properly so second it is …. after a spectacular run from Asafa, closing in from fifth. 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Adrian  |  September 3, 2007 at 12:57 pm

    sorry to hear about your food poisoning.. hope you get better soon.

    Reply
  • 5. Leon  |  September 4, 2007 at 4:00 pm

    Well, we now know who the nation voted for, now don’t we! The races were good, but I can’t get excited like other Jamaicans about this. Things have been back to normal for me weeks ago.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
August 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,273 hits

