Normal service has resumed

August 27, 2007 at 1:51 pm 9 comments

That’s right, internet is now part of my life again! The hurricane has been and gone and thanks for all of the good wishes. I made it through well. I put everything in my apartment on blocks (I’ve been informed that the place has flooded badly in the past), took photo albums to my parents, packed my bags, locked the door and headed to the man’s house where the generator and water tank were well enjoyed. And when I went back home to inspect the damage afterwards, the only water in the hosue was that coming out of the taps. Boy, was I lucky and am I thankful.

But I need to keep remembering that and remembering how bad things are elsewhere. In Ivan, we were still living at our old house outside of town and things were rough – the roof nearly went, no water for 2 weeks, no electrivity for 5. And apparently Dean hit up there worse than Ivan did.

Although I am very keen to get elections out of the way so that we can all start making plans for the future, I do hope that these elections will be able to be carried off properly. In areas where there is no light and water, I hope people can still be able to come out and vote. It is so easy for us sitting in a city where things are getting back to normal quickly, to forget that there are others who are suffering lots. And that these people also deserve to vote and have their say.

Enough preaching… off to check that everyone else is OK now!

Oh yes, nearly forgot – the hurricane and the rain last week has been excellent for my new grass! It’s looking good now!

Entry filed under: On life as it is only in Jamaica.

Dean Go and Vote!!!

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. googly1961  |  August 27, 2007 at 6:11 pm

    Always good hear that all is well with you and yours…

    Blessings and Peace!!

    Reply
  • 2. Leon  |  August 27, 2007 at 9:55 pm

    Glad to hear about you and your grass. Don’t worry, people will vote. If they can show up at political rallies, they can show up to vote.

    Reply
  • 3. bobby  |  August 27, 2007 at 10:55 pm

    Hey can i see some pics of the grass …. just got back my water yesterday 😦

    But hey as you said there are persons out there worst off.

    Reply
  • 4. n'Drea  |  August 28, 2007 at 9:19 am

    Hi. I’ve been following your blog for some time now, and have really been enjoying your stories. I’m a yardie too, by the way.

    Glad to know you and your family were safe during Dean. You’re right. We need to pray for those who have not fared as well as we have, and offer our tangible support and help where possible.

    Reply
  • 5. Adrian  |  August 28, 2007 at 10:27 am

    lol yeah plants seem to love hurricane water 😀

    Reply
  • 6. fiyah  |  August 28, 2007 at 11:13 am

    Nice to see you are back on your blogging feet. Glad you fared well during Dean!

    Reply
  • 7. Cranky Putz  |  August 30, 2007 at 2:30 pm

    Always looking on the brightside.

    Reply
  • 8. mad bull  |  August 30, 2007 at 9:23 pm

    Glad you made it thru safe and sound.

    Reply
  • 9. revolution island  |  August 30, 2007 at 10:05 pm

    Hello KG, hope Dean was not too rude to you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
August 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,219 hits

