And After!

June 18, 2007 at 9:16 am 18 comments

And this is what the place looks like now. Still a work in progress but a hell of a lot better than it was before. It smells clean. It feels clean. Wonderful.  

After - Living Room 

This is the living room now, with the famous red wall. I need to get a bookcase to go under the lights, but that will come in time. Obviously, having 2 bookcases isn’t enough for me, I need another one! Note the lack of tide marks on the bottom of the walls, replaced by nice wooden skirting boards. The floor is the same floor, what a difference a good clean makes!

After - kitchen

The kitchen now. Still tiny (hence the new breakfast bar in the living room) but everything has its place. And white tiles help make it lok a bit less cubbyhole-like.

After - bedroom

And the bedroom, with fresh paint, new wardrobe doors, new floors etc.

Still some things to be done (need plants for the new big back verandha, need curtains in the living room, blinds for the kitchen window, some more paintings for the walls…) but it’s mine and I’m proud of it now.

Entry filed under: On trying to become a propertied young lady.

Part One – Before… tagged!

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. JamRock  |  June 18, 2007 at 9:51 am

    Red is a great colour!!! I painted all my doors and cupboards red!!! It gives a nice warm and cosy feeling!! Patience though! A house will take forever to look like you really want it to! !Some compare it to a marriage!!! lol. When you swing by Paris one day, I’ll show you my ‘redness’!!! lol

    Reply
  • 2. Prim  |  June 18, 2007 at 11:22 am

    I also have a red “accent wall” in my home! I LOVE it and it livens things up a bit. You did a fabulous job! I’ve had my home for five years now and I’m still making improvements. As they say….rome wasn’t built in a day 😉

    Reply
  • 3. Cranky Putz  |  June 18, 2007 at 7:45 pm

    Beautiful red, and wow what a difference between the before and after, at least I know who to call now, when I need to spruce things up!

    Reply
  • 4. Dr. D.  |  June 18, 2007 at 8:12 pm

    You did a great job KG. Looks like one of those homes that they makeover on cable TV.

    Reply
  • 5. Gela Words  |  June 18, 2007 at 8:14 pm

    Nice, very nice. Looks nice and cozy.

    Reply
  • 6. googly1961  |  June 18, 2007 at 9:08 pm

    Very good!! Well done

    Reply
  • 7. Alexandra  |  June 19, 2007 at 1:29 am

    looks so wonderful!!! can’t wait to get one myself!

    Reply
  • 8. The Dutch Pot  |  June 19, 2007 at 9:37 am

    Congrats on the acquisition and makeover! I LOOOVE the red walls!!

    Reply
  • 9. owen  |  June 19, 2007 at 9:44 am

    omg, I love that red and white wall. what is that color? does it have a name is it just red?

    Reply
  • 10. marangand  |  June 19, 2007 at 10:49 am

    Looks Great…What a lot a little imagination can do…Was a bit tentative about the red…but it works…..Anyway please do the following…….. I was tagged by MB to do a post about 8 random things about myself…I played along and part of the rule is that i have to tag others,……so you are hereby tagged

    Reply
  • 11. Chief Lymer  |  June 19, 2007 at 2:38 pm

    THe place looks really nice. Congrats! I remember my first flat and the freedom. Do enjoy.

    Reply
  • 12. Kassim  |  June 19, 2007 at 8:21 pm

    awesome

    Reply
  • 13. Mad Bull  |  June 20, 2007 at 6:30 am

    It looks great! I definitely like it! It looks like you could be an interior designer!

    Reply
  • 14. Bobby  |  June 20, 2007 at 11:52 am

    You belong in outerspace….. (oooh that is my blog) …yep love the colours, definitely out of the box, that is where i live. Are we nieghbours 😉

    Reply
  • 15. Yamfoot  |  June 20, 2007 at 8:57 pm

    Nice transformation. Kudos to you. Enjoy personalizing it.

    Reply
  • 16. Stunner  |  June 25, 2007 at 8:59 pm

    You go you interior designer you!

    Reply
  • 17. Ann  |  July 21, 2007 at 4:50 pm

    Wow. I love that red! Your place really looks great!

    Reply
  • 18. Cool Destiny  |  July 24, 2007 at 4:58 pm

    I’m so late but your place looks really good. How long did it take for the transformation? And did you decorate it yourself? Yes, red is a signature colour, in my living room also 🙂 Great work girl. It looks cozy and as you said .. a fi yu own!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
June 2007
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 55,273 hits

