I’m a big kid now!

June 4, 2007 at 3:56 pm 18 comments

I have lived abroad for 8 years, many miles away from my parents. I have lived in student halls of residence, shared student flats, gorgeous apartments with a friend. I have travelled the world, sometimes on my own, sometimes in charge of other people. By the time my mum was my age, she was married with 2 children. When I came back to Jamaica, I moved back in with my parents but I didn’t realise that this cancelled out all of my independent living that I’d done.

I moved into my own place this weekend, last night was my first night there. It’s wonderful, great, exciting, and yes, a bit scary. If anything goes wrong, I have to fix it – no more calling a landlord.

So this morning, my mum called me from the car on the way to work to check I was OK. She had waited until she was out of the house as she didn’t want my dad to accuse her of babying me.

Then a little later, my dad called to check I was OK. He had waited until my mum had gone to work as he didn’t want her to accuse him of spoiling me.

I laughed to myself. And thought that yes, it is good being independent. But at the same time, it’s always nice to have people behind you just in case.

Entry filed under: On trying to become a propertied young lady.

Trumpets please Learning from an early age

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dennis Rapley  |  June 4, 2007 at 4:25 pm

    I’m so pleased you finally have secured your own place. I have been following your blog for some months now and and have shared your good and bad moments in getting this far. I luv your blog as it gives me a little insight into the real jamaica of today, not the one that my parents fed me all these years from their rose tinted memories of home of yesteryear.

    Reply
  • 2. Jamaipanese  |  June 4, 2007 at 4:43 pm

    congrats on getting your own place. I hope to do the same withing the next 3 years.

    Reply
  • 3. Dr. D.  |  June 4, 2007 at 6:27 pm

    Congrats to you. Raises glass! 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Adrian  |  June 4, 2007 at 8:27 pm

    lol I hate it when my parents call me at different times about the same thing.

    congrats on the new found independence again.. remember to celebrate it!

    Reply
  • 5. Yamfoot  |  June 4, 2007 at 8:28 pm

    I lived in the Bahamas for the last two years of university, so that was my first time away from di parents.

    after I worked for a bit, I decided to move out. I remember it clearly. It was January 1997. I moved to be closer to work. It was then that my anxiety attacks returned!

    Plus, one night me and a croaking lizard had it out, and it involved me boiling a pot of water and throwing it on it. I realized then that I had to grow up!

    Reply
  • 6. Prim  |  June 4, 2007 at 8:50 pm

    Great news KG!! Congrats…doesn’t it feel amazing?! Parents are parents….my mother must call me 3-4 times a day…and the funny thing is I would find it strange if she stopped calling! LOL.

    Reply
  • 7. Alexandra  |  June 5, 2007 at 2:54 am

    i’ve been peeking at your blog now and then…

    just want to say congratulations! enjoy your new home!

    Reply
  • 8. Cranky Putz  |  June 5, 2007 at 10:08 am

    Congrats, and isn’t it funny how you feel even closer to the folks once you leave them?

    Reply
  • 9. revolution island  |  June 5, 2007 at 1:17 pm

    Congrats to you…

    Reply
  • 10. Gela Words  |  June 5, 2007 at 3:36 pm

    Congrats KG, that must be an awesome feeling moving into your own home. Ultra cool indeed.

    Reply
  • 11. Simplenigma  |  June 5, 2007 at 3:50 pm

    LOL…That thing your parents did was cute. Congrats again.

    (Still checking for the 5 things…don’t think yuh get ‘way)

    Reply
  • 12. Minoramp  |  June 5, 2007 at 4:57 pm

    Hey good luck …. on your new journey…. 😉

    Reply
  • 13. wisugar  |  June 5, 2007 at 7:25 pm

    Lived alone for many years, and own a place in MOBAY, and now I live in my old room just like I didwhen the family moved here 20 odd years – wierd I tell you!

    Reply
  • 14. googly1961  |  June 5, 2007 at 7:46 pm

    Congrats on reaching a major fork in the road…. As they say, travel the path, least taken!! Good luck

    Reply
  • 15. Yamfoot  |  June 5, 2007 at 9:21 pm

    hey googly….you “go” here too?
    {think Reese Witherspoon’s character in Legally Blonde to her former boyfriend Warner)

    Reply
  • 16. Kara  |  June 9, 2007 at 3:30 am

    Blessup Kingston Girl…i did the same 6 weeks earlier…but my mortgage only came through last week…..it is a wonderful feeling…for me the water from the shower is the best i have ever felt….lol

    Reply
  • 17. JamRock  |  June 13, 2007 at 3:52 pm

    Félications all the way from Paris!! Congrats girl!!! It only gets better from now are!! I found your link on Petite Anglaise’s site!, what a small world – esp. with blogging!! lol

    Reply
  • 18. Irie Diva  |  September 19, 2007 at 8:51 pm

    am officially jealous. such a step seems so far off for me 😦

    congrats tho…i imagine i’ll be reading all the new home stories. cant wait

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
June 2007
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 55,222 hits

