Trumpets please

May 31, 2007 at 4:22 pm 9 comments

It seems like it will finally come to pass.  I have booked a moving vehicle. The finishing touches are being put to the kitchen right now. The bathroom just needs cleaning. Lights have gone up. The electrician has checked everything. And the grill man is working right as I type.

Ladies and Gentlemen, on Saturday Kingston Girl will be moving to her new abode.

Her own apartment.

(Well, currently it’s a shares between her and the mortgage company, but that’s irrelevant at this point in time) 

And damn, I’m excited. And if you have been reading for a while, you’ll feel the excitement with me. The place has been transformed from a major dump not fit for human habitation into something very cute. Basically, it’s amazing.

And I think I’d better stop now as I am running out of  superlatives. But it’s very very cool!

PS To Leon and others on blogspot – I try and visit you, sometimes I even succeed on getting into your sites. However, commenting appears to be beyond the prowess of my computer. So you’ll just have to take my word for it – and i’ll just have to keep trying.

Entry filed under: On trying to become a propertied young lady.

Hormones? I’m a big kid now!

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Yamfoot  |  May 31, 2007 at 5:45 pm

    congrats!

    That’s the part of moving into one’s own place that I would like…not the mortgage payments!

    Reply
  • 2. Adrian  |  May 31, 2007 at 6:44 pm

    congrats!! I cant wait till its my turn to buy somewhere, fix it up and move into my own place!

    blogspot has shunned you coz you ran away to wordpres ;p

    Reply
  • 3. Cranky Putz  |  June 1, 2007 at 11:01 am

    Congratulations and Celebrations….

    We so very happy for you!

    Reply
  • 4. Gela Words  |  June 1, 2007 at 10:11 pm

    Yaaay!

    Hey, Edna Manley graduating Art students will have their exhibitions today, if you have any funds remaining after fixing up your place, you might want to pop over their (in between moving) to see if you can get some nice pieces at reasonabe price.

    Man, you must be over the moon! Yeah!

    Reply
  • 5. Gela Words  |  June 1, 2007 at 10:12 pm

    Oh damn, correct that ‘their’ to ‘there’ for me please. 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Dr. D.  |  June 2, 2007 at 2:39 pm

    Congrats.

    When is the housewarming? 😉

    Reply
  • 7. Mad Bull  |  June 3, 2007 at 10:30 am

    Congratulations!!! Am happy 4 u. To all the Blogspot crew, WordPress.com is waiting 4 u.

    Reply
  • 8. Simplenigma  |  June 4, 2007 at 3:22 pm

    Whoo-muthaeffin-hoo!! Good for you, lady. Congrats!

    To show you how I’m always thinking about food, when I read that the “grill man” was coming, I thought you were talking ’bout BBQ grill. I thought to myself, “KG doan ramp…she not even move een yet and she already a plan di housewarming party.” LOL.

    @ Madbull: Death before WordPress!! Neverrrrrrrr!!

    Reply
  • 9. Neil  |  July 8, 2007 at 7:52 pm

    Nice read! I’m a 43 year old Jamaican and I’ve lived in the U.S. for 33 years. I guess by American standards I’ve “made it” here; I’m retired and have all the material crap Americans use to measure success; but I have this emptyness in my soul that I know is somehow related to growing up here and not really having a connection to my country, my home, my people, I have often wished my parents had stayed in Jamaica and let me grow up and experience life in my own culture. I’m sure they had the best of intentions when the immigrated here but I didn’t have a choice. I have been contemplating moving to Jamaica for the last two years and I get no support from my parents or anyone else in my family for that matter. They go on and on about the crime and how I’ll be kidnapped and murdered the second I step off the plane because “they” (?) will know I’m not from there (?) so it encourages me to read about someone going back to where they are from and experiencing what they missed growing up ah foreign. Maybe some day…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
May 2007
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,222 hits

