Hormones?

May 28, 2007 at 9:16 am 10 comments

The sky is grey today, and that matches my mood. No real reason but just feeling grey. Even putting on my favourite pink top to wear to work today didn’t manage to make me feel better.

And then on the way to work, I’m driving along, minding my own business. I’m in the lane to turn left at some lights when a man comes out of the side road and blocks my way. I push up, trying not to let him out – he can’t go anywhere – his light is red. I can go somewhere, my light is green. But no, he pushes in front of me, blocks me from turning and sits there. This annoys me.

But what annoys me most is the bike man who comes along as this is happening, when I am trying to prevent the man from blocking me. He yells out ‘white gyal, why you ?*#^ act so? Get out of di way and go back where yuh come from’ and proceeds to curse me out.

And as I was already in the grey mood, that made me soooo mad. I get cut up on the road, but as I am a white gyal, it’s obviously my fault and I must go away.

Days like this I wonder why I came back to Jamaica. And why I choose to work in the government and choose to try and help people like him when his assumption is that I must go away.

Entry filed under: On life as it is only in Jamaica.

Labouring Trumpets please

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cranky Putz  |  May 28, 2007 at 10:33 am

    We all have these days…It’s Hormones, I swear! Hang in there.

    Reply
  • 2. Adrian  |  May 28, 2007 at 10:39 am

    hmm.. don’t let road rage get the best of you, just ignore their ignorance :D.

    Ima take a wild guess, were you coming down Old Hope Rd. to turn on to Tomredcam and the guy came out from Curphey Rd?

    People always block me right there in the morning too 😦

    Reply
  • 3. Kingston Girl  |  May 28, 2007 at 10:52 am

    CP: Need chocolate…

    Adrian: How did you guess! Right there is indeed the place.

    Reply
  • 4. Dennis Owen Williamson  |  May 28, 2007 at 3:45 pm

    Hang in there. There are ignorant people everywhere. An example of an idiot making assumptions without all the information. I think he was having a bad day and thus tried to take it out on you. These days will come and go. Hang in there. Maybe it is time to examine your options and see if it’s time for a career change.

    Reply
  • 5. Dr. D.  |  May 28, 2007 at 8:26 pm

    This too shall pass!

    Don’t allow ignorance to get the better of you, though I know sometimes it is hard, especially when you are in the right and them some asswipe comes along with a statement about one’s ethnicity!

    I’m not minding the present weather at all, just consider…if the rains continue tonight, one just might be able to get all warm and cuddly with someone especial! A botlle of vino and some nice background music may make the night that much nicer! πŸ˜‰

    Hope tomorrow is better for you.

    Reply
  • 6. scratchie  |  May 29, 2007 at 7:47 am

    Hope you have a better day today. We have all kinds of people to deal with including the iggies who subscribe to lawless behaviour. I’ve had people who can’t go anywhere drive up and block me from turning out of a side road even though they can’t go anywhere. It seems as if it’s just their delight not to grant a bligh to anyone. Not to be a MCP but it used to be mostly women now the men getting in on the act as well probably more than the women.

    Reply
  • 7. Stunner  |  May 30, 2007 at 7:31 am

    I would tell both the driver and the rider no ends of unpleasant words, as I think I suffer from road rage. May be it’s a good thing I don’t have a gun. Cheer up don’t make two dumb asses spoil your mood.

    Reply
  • 8. Leon  |  May 30, 2007 at 5:29 pm

    Never mind him. People who use colour to label people usually have an inferiority complex about their own complexion. Swing by my blog if you get the chance.

    Reply
  • 9. Minoramp  |  May 31, 2007 at 2:53 pm

    Hey look in the rear view mirror and be thankful you ain’t none of those sorry asses cause they aint got a clue… and you sure as hell do…. then just smile even the plastic one.

    Reply
  • 10. Gela Words  |  June 1, 2007 at 10:19 pm

    Damn, no end to the stupidity of people. Tara Clivio’s article today basically addressed the same issue. Apparently she was jogging and some idiot passed and wondered aloud is where some much ‘white people come from in we country and why dem don’t go back whe dem come from”

    People tend to forget that our motto is Out of many, one people – and you’re as Jamaican as them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
May 2007
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,222 hits

