Labouring

May 24, 2007 at 9:15 am 8 comments

For labour day*, my father and I decided to put together a bbq which he had just bought. It seems fairly simple – according to the instructions, all we needed to do ‘assure fast and easy assembly, follow the instructions below in their proper sequence.’ Excellent, we can go that.

We quicly discovered it was a good thing that were written instructions rather that just pictures, as the pictures bore no relation to what was in the box. You can image the picture – printed poorly wiht each piece looking the same and arrows pointing to nowhere. So we started to follow the instructions.

We then discovered that this was not as simple as it seemed, as you first had to try and work out what the instructions actually meant. Things like

‘Insert the hadle into the long leg using the sirew’

‘Aling the tectandular wire shelf into the leg ends’

‘ Insert secure with caps uts and wheels on both sides’

After a while, we gave up and tried to do it on our own. I think we did good. It stands properly now. It looks like it will work.

And we only have one piece left over now. We don’t know its purpose so we are just hoping it’s nothing important. I’m sure we’ll discover when we use it…

* For the foreigners out there, Jamaican Labour Day is actually supposed to be a day when you labour on projects in your communities. Not when you sleep or do things at home…

Entry filed under: On nothing in particular.

Hullahulla Hormones?

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Simplenigma  |  May 24, 2007 at 11:54 am

    LMAO @ the footnote. Tell that to Adrian . LOL.

    Was this grill, perchance, from Ikea. LOL. Let me know after you grill the first piece of chicken. Hehe.

    Reply
  • 2. Kingston Girl  |  May 24, 2007 at 12:01 pm

    At least we tried to labour!!

    I wish the grill was from Ikea – I’m expert at understanging swenglish. But no Ikeas anywhere in Jamaica 😦

    Reply
  • 3. Kingston Girl  |  May 24, 2007 at 12:02 pm

    PS To all you blogger people out there – I keep trying but blogger won’t let me comment for you!

    Reply
  • 4. Gela Words  |  May 24, 2007 at 2:32 pm

    I laboured alright. On the tennis court. And now in nuff, nuff pain, been awhile since I try and hit a tennis ball. Was in bed for the rest of the day recovering.

    Reply
  • 5. Adrian  |  May 24, 2007 at 10:01 pm

    lol leave me alone.. “me nuh fram fareen”

    My family uses me as a handyman to put together stuff. Don’t worry Kingston Girl I always have left over parts too lol.

    Reply
  • 6. Stunner  |  May 24, 2007 at 10:31 pm

    LOL! I hade those so called easy to set up one page instruction manuals! Well at least it’s standing.

    I enjoyed Lazyday, as i did absolutely nothing!

    Reply
  • 7. scratchie  |  May 25, 2007 at 7:42 am

    Labour Day?….ohhhhh that’s what it’s called. dwl. I actually did some work around the house. I really couldn’t deal with the road painting and park cutting this year. I can give you some stories about those easy to assemble piece of … items.

    Reply
  • 8. Dr. D.  |  May 28, 2007 at 8:06 am

    If cleaning one’s fish tank filter is labouring, then I laboured! 🙂

    I always ask if I can’t get the assembled one in the store when buying stuff…usually the answer is no!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
May 2007
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,219 hits

