You know you’ve worked for the government too long when…

April 23, 2007 at 5:41 pm 10 comments

I found myself in a meeting today saying the following:

1. As you are aware, Directors only talk to Directors, Officers talk to Officers

2. Surely you know the protocol involved in this?

3. Well, as civil servants, we all know that what the Minister wants is what happens.  

4. I will address that issue when you send me a memo stating the relevant facts.

I will know when it is time to move on when I stop feeling comfortable in my open-toed shoes, start to wear itchy suits and begin refusing to answer to my first name!

Entry filed under: On being a working girl.

Jumbie Jumbie Recycling

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. islandspice  |  April 23, 2007 at 10:28 pm

    hahahhah! Don’t forget the vacation, sick, casual, study, departmental AS WELL AS cricket days!!
    it coulda worse! work-wid-it! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Gela Words  |  April 24, 2007 at 12:06 am

    Damn, I so badly want to go cricket tomorrow, don’t think I can with the work I have to do though. sigh.

    Reply
  • 3. Dr. D.  |  April 24, 2007 at 8:06 am

    “Cricket Days???” Aaaah bwoy……

    And, yes, I have heard of them.

    Reply
  • 4. Adrian  |  April 24, 2007 at 8:56 am

    lol the bureaucracy.. its your chance to make a change in the system :p

    Reply
  • 5. Kingston Girl  |  April 25, 2007 at 7:45 am

    I wish we got all that leave – no such thing as cricket days in my area and also not much holiday… it comes along with the MOU and modernisation of government – a cut back in civil servants holidays!

    Reply
  • 6. taylor  |  April 25, 2007 at 11:23 am

    yeah.. beauracratic bullshit.. its everywhere. follow the chain of command.. more time by the time the chain get complete the importance of whatever it was is no longer there.

    ps.. cricket.. ugh..lame *ducks and hides*

    Reply
  • 7. Leon  |  April 25, 2007 at 2:01 pm

    You’re becoming one of them now.

    Reply
  • 8. Cranky Putz  |  April 25, 2007 at 2:22 pm

    Welcome to the dark side……..or as in my job youd say WTTDS

    Reply
  • 9. GC  |  April 29, 2007 at 11:58 am

    did you see The Devil Wears Prada? sounds like you are in imminent danger.

    Reply
  • 10. Irie Diva  |  September 19, 2007 at 8:16 pm

    wat a stress we movin on up eeh…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
April 2007
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 55,273 hits

