Exploring

April 11, 2007 at 10:54 am 10 comments

This weekend was Easter – a well needed break from reality and the office. I decided against staying out of town for the weekend, too much things going on in my life that I had to stay in town for. However, I compromised with day trips.

Friday was a girl’s trip to Portland. I would show the pictures from that day but I might get killed by my friends. So instead, these are from my trip to Portland the previous week – the first is Blue Lagoon which I hadn’t been to in years. It’s been shut for ages but now Micheal Lee Chin has bought it so who knows what will happen there…  The second is of the Errol Flynn Marina in Port Antonio, I love that place – I just need to win the lotto so I can have a boat there!

And then on Monday, I decided to drag the man on an adventure in the hills. Someone had told me that supposedly Chincona gardens are very nice. And that you can get there without too much difficulty. Well, he has a 4-whell drive so off we went. We turned off the main road (the road with bits missing on a steep hillside) and onto a less major road (one without tarmac) and then onto one that really is a track… 

 The Road

And eventually we reached the gardens without too many scratches on his car… And the gardens were beautiful otherwise I’d have been in big trouble. And I proved my domesticity by making us a lovely picnic to eat there!

 

 And then we had fun on the way from the gardens as the roads didn’t get any better. We’d decided to attempt a circular route as we were aiming for a guest house to spend the night in. Things got very interesting when we met a car going the other way

 

I laughed a lot after we had finally reversed far enough so that they could pass us on the small patch of flat land we foudn and we saw that the car had in a guy and his girlfriend. Obviously she and I had had the same plan – take our men out for a nice day – without really knowing what we were getting into.  All I have to say is that my man obviously loves me to follow me in my mad schemes and I guess her man is the same!

But it was a very pretty day, and reminded me how lucky we are to live in a country with so much variety – I love the hills.

 

At the end of the day, we made it to our destination – Star Light Chalets and it was definitely worth it. The place was so quiet and peaceful that we spent the evening listening to the river with a bottle of wine. Only an hour from Kingston on the ‘direct’ route, but a different world.

 

Highly recommended for anyone in need of a break!

Entry filed under: On leaving the city behind.

:-) / :-( Jumbie Jumbie

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Yamfoot  |  April 11, 2007 at 4:03 pm

    it looks lovely. i love hills.

    Reply
  • 2. Leon  |  April 11, 2007 at 4:56 pm

    You livin’ too much life girl.

    Reply
  • 3. beaver  |  April 12, 2007 at 3:17 am

    Cool ! Looks like you are rocking the boat. Well done !

    Reply
  • 4. madbull  |  April 12, 2007 at 6:41 am

    Sounds like fun. I must check them out sometime… Maybe in June (or is it July) when I am supposed to touch down on the Rock again.

    Reply
  • 5. Simplenigma  |  April 12, 2007 at 8:41 am

    So you passed through my hometown, huh (Star Light Chalet)?

    Funny, I lived very close to there nearly all my life and I’ve never been. LOL.

    Thanks for the pics and the memories. *sob, choke, sniffle*

    Reply
  • 6. Dr. D.  |  April 12, 2007 at 8:07 pm

    I am a Portland fan myslef. The natural beauty of Blue Lagoon is always nice. I hope they have done something to improve the food at the restaurant though. Last time I ate there (maybe some 2 or 3 yrs ago) it really wasn’t much to talk about. Not bad, but just not great either…

    Yes the Marina is nice, but could be far greater utilized as a tourism product for cruise ship arrivals….make some more FEx for the country.

    Cinchona…long time. In the pciture, is that a stream flowing into the pool? Must be nice but I can imagine quite frigid!

    Seems you had a good weekend.

    Reply
  • 7. Cranky Putz  |  April 13, 2007 at 9:14 am

    Pretty pictures…

    Reply
  • 8. Prim  |  April 13, 2007 at 11:14 am

    What a beautiful and serene place! Must keep this spot in mind for my next trip.

    Reply
  • 9. Adrian  |  April 13, 2007 at 4:35 pm

    lol.. I need to book myself some of that r&r you getting kingston girl, work has been trying to smother me recently.

    Reply
  • 10. Fyr  |  April 20, 2007 at 10:15 am

    dang! been wanting to re-visit Cinchona for years – nice to know a good 4×4 can make it there. thanks!!! valuable information.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
April 2007
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 55,273 hits

