Roll it gyal

March 26, 2007 at 4:35 pm 16 comments

So who cared if it had been raining all evening, Allison Hinds was due at Mas Camp on Friday night. And that meant I had to be there. Went nice and early so that I could get a parking space and then found my space to wait for her to come on.

And the rain and the wait were worth it. We danced all night, rolled it like there is no tomorrow, yelled until our throats were sore and had a great time. She is a damn good performer who knows how to please the crowd. The place was jammed and there was a brilliant vibe.

And after she was finished, I managed to get myself chatted up by someone who we think is a member of the Irish cricket team. Am not sure who it was but he was standing by two guys who looked like the brothers on the team and my friend saw she recognised him from Sabina Park (the pitch at Sabina that is, not the stands!)

So we were walking by and they saw us, and one of them took a liking to Kingston Girl and stretched out his arm to grab her. Well, Kingston Girl doesn’t normally like that kind of approach, but hey, it’s world cup and we are being nice to foreigners at the moment. So I smiled at him, at which point starts with the line ‘It is so nice to see a beautiful white woman here.’

Hmm, now my brain gets confused by that and starts to deconstruct that statement (hey, I studied sociology so it happens). Does that mean he has seen lots of beautiful black women here and it’s nice to see a white one for a change, does it mean that all the white women here are ugly or does it mean that it’s just nice to see a white face?

Anyway, I smiled back and decided against going into the statement. He then quizzes me about what I’m doing in at Mas Camp (obviously – Allison Hinds) and what it is like living in Kingston (I love it, it’s home – to which he had a confused look on his face), followed by the invtation to the after party at their hotel, at which point the grip on my arm is getting tighter.

Hmmm, this girl has a man already and isn’t taken in that easily! Excuses were made and we ran away. But looking back, if I had taken up the offer and he really was on their cricket team, then i could have sold my story to the Irish tabloids… what a missed chance!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Catching up :-) / :-(

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cranky Putz  |  March 27, 2007 at 9:05 am

    He probably was wathcing you roll it all evening long, before he pounced, well at least you got a good blog story out of it.

    Reply
  • 2. taylor  |  March 27, 2007 at 9:31 am

    bwoy.. i dunno i loosing the go out vibe. i dont really care to go out ne more. 😦 glad you had fun.

    Reply
  • 3. Campfyah  |  March 27, 2007 at 10:21 am

    Allison still doing her thing…Good for her

    Reply
  • 4. Island Spice  |  March 27, 2007 at 10:41 am

    I love Allison Hinds! Hmmm.. maybe I coulda read bout u on some Irish gossip website..

    Reply
  • 5. Prim  |  March 27, 2007 at 1:03 pm

    First of all I’m very jealous re: Allison Hinds! I’m in need of a good ‘roll’ now that I think about it.

    Can you imagine the Irish shenanigans that went on in that hotel room! You might have missed a good story indeed.

    Reply
  • 6. Dr. D.  |  March 28, 2007 at 8:25 am

    Maybe if you went to the party you might have been given some complimentary match tickets…then again…..

    Reply
  • 7. Leon  |  March 28, 2007 at 4:21 pm

    Yeah. My mother says those Irish men frequent New Kingston heavily now, especially since their win. I think he means all the other white women are ugly.

    Reply
  • 8. fiyah  |  March 29, 2007 at 2:16 am

    Hope you do a review of Jamaica Carnival. I have a couple of people I want to pass it on to.

    As for those Irish guys maybe being members of the team… mine yuh get them in trouble wid dih coach! Lol.

    Reply
  • 9. GC  |  March 29, 2007 at 1:53 pm

    hello,
    first visit I think
    very interesting situation. I’m not even sure what to think.

    Reply
  • 10. Gela the city dweller  |  March 29, 2007 at 9:15 pm

    hmmm, just passing thru for a second….

    I know I saw someone like you rolling up a storm 🙂 just kidding.

    It was fun, couldn’t miss it.

    Ok, off again.

    Reply
  • 11. guyana-gyal  |  March 30, 2007 at 9:10 am

    I’m still ‘recovering’ from your Israel trip and there you are, getting grabbed by strange men…wot a life, wot a life 🙂

    Reply
  • 12. scratchie  |  March 30, 2007 at 11:44 am

    Sometimes the story not worth the effort it takes to get it…then again sometimes it is. Think about all the free tickets to the stands and the parties and the………OK let me get a grip here. 😀

    Reply
  • 13. Stunner  |  March 31, 2007 at 8:52 pm

    Sounds like there was some crazy fun at Mass Camp. Poor Stunner has to work every weekend all weekend till late! But fly high fly low Stunner and his trusted camera plans to be at the road march!

    Buss two likkle wine and even the irish dem after you, roll it! lol.

    Reply
  • 14. revolution island  |  April 1, 2007 at 8:32 pm

    And she no’ name Hinds for nuttin. Oh well, you made Irish eyes smile.

    Reply
  • 15. jules  |  April 2, 2007 at 4:42 pm

    He said that to you as a pick up line?!?!

    If a guy had come up to me (black guy) in an all white place and said…

    “It is nice to see a beautiful black woman here!”

    …I would run in the other direction.

    Not a good sign. Anyway, it’s nice to check up with you again. I finally have free fast internet, but it’s just a week. I wish I could spend more time on your blog and comment more but getting to internet in this country is hard. Take care though. You’ve got a friend in Africa. 🙂

    Reply
  • 16. Tammi  |  April 12, 2007 at 10:41 pm

    I was there that night…she is a DAMN good entertainer, btw i’ve been following your blog since 2005, its really addictive, i sit at work mindlessly advising customers with my eyes glued to the pc screen, lol. Why did you move it btw??
    Well anyway keep the stories coming…..lata

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
March 2007
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 55,222 hits

