Still Alive!

February 24, 2007 at 3:01 pm 12 comments

Yup, I’m alive and surviving Israel! So far no major bomb scares (a guy was arrested in a bomb in Tel Aviv on the same day that I was visiting there but it is a big city and I am only one person so it’s not a real scare), I have avoided climbing over any big walls that I’ve seen, I looked from a distance at the barbed wire which seperated us from Syria (the security guard who accompanies us on trips refused to let me go any closer) and currently I am perfectly safe as the computer room where I am staying is actually the bomb shelter. And fortunately I am coming home this week. Which means that I should miss the war which is being predicted for this summer

And how I am looking forward to coming home. I am looking forward to having my own bedroom again, to having a bed with a mattress thicker than 1 inch, to eating meat AND diary at the same time, to being able to take a bus or go shopping on a Friday afternoon or on a Saturday, to being able to go out without people constantly warning me about bomb attacks and to not having classes 6 days a week!

But despite all of this (or maybe because of it all?), Israel has been an facinating experience. The course has made me think and ask lots of questions, the culture has been very different to anything I’ve experienced before, the historic and religious (especially the Galilee) and natural sights (particularly the Negev and the Dead Sea) are amazing and I can definitely agree that it is a complex society. My main regret is that I didn’t get to go to any Palestinian territory and to see enough of Jerusalem (sorry Dutch Pot, didn’t have long enough there to see you!). 

More stories when I get home…

Entry filed under: On going to foreign.

I’m here! Glad to be home

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. googly1961  |  February 25, 2007 at 1:23 pm

    Fascinating and scary at the same time!!.. Look forward to reading more

    Reply
  • 2. Adrian  |  February 25, 2007 at 11:22 pm

    No need to read/write.. A picture is worth 1000 words 🙂

    Safe travels back to Jamaica.

    Reply
  • 3. beaver  |  February 26, 2007 at 12:08 am

    Scary – but how interesting. Israel is the ultimate historical destination !

    Honey, I hope you kept a travel journal ! (Although – I know how tough it is to stop and write – I have a hard time with that too!)

    Godspeed my dear and congrats on leaving the Middle East safe and sound.

    Beav’

    Reply
  • 4. scratchie  |  February 26, 2007 at 7:08 am

    Safe travel. Looking forward to some pictures.

    Reply
  • 5. Sally Lomax  |  February 26, 2007 at 8:27 am

    I would love to visit there one day. I agree about wanting ot get home at the end of a holiday though. No place like it really!

    Reply
  • 6. Leon  |  February 26, 2007 at 6:26 pm

    See. Jamaica ain’t all that bad. Get home soon.

    Reply
  • 7. cream  |  February 27, 2007 at 6:52 am

    So after Israel, Kingston is gonna fell like heaven!
    And it looks like a hot summer planned for the middle east?
    Hope you have a nice trip home.

    Reply
  • 8. Dr. D.  |  February 28, 2007 at 6:19 pm

    Safe travel home.

    Reply
  • 9. The Dutch Pot  |  March 2, 2007 at 7:25 am

    Glad you were able to enjoy some of the major sights in this land! We figured you were very busy 🙂

    Reply
  • 10. Stunner  |  March 3, 2007 at 8:17 pm

    Good to hear you’re ok. And the adventures keep on going. Looking forward to the pics.

    Reply
  • 11. revolution island  |  March 4, 2007 at 6:39 pm

    Welcome back when you get back KG

    Reply
  • 12. madbull  |  March 4, 2007 at 11:37 pm

    Hurry up and get back so you can tell us more.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
February 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

Blog Stats

  • 55,222 hits

