Israel here I come

January 31, 2007 at 12:39 pm 11 comments

So I found out yesterday afternoon (that would be Tuesday) that it is on – I’m going to Israel on the early flight tomorrow (that would be Thursday). Nothing like giving a girl some notice that she will be away for a whole month in a cold place. Fortunately my family and I have moved loads over the years so I am a fairly quick packer. all I’m hoping is that I have long enough in New York on the way to find myself a new pair of shoes suitable for cold weather – I live in open toe shoes here and that might not be a good idea when it is forecasted to be 10 C!

So internet – any advice as to where I can find a pair of shoes in JFK airport? We fly into Newark and then have 7 hours to get to JFK for our flight out. Any help gratefully received! Usually I’d go search for the info online myself, however that isn’t one of today’s priorities.

So  apparently there is good internet access where I’m staying so hopefully I’ll let you know how I get on! Wish me luck!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

And all that Jazz!!! I’m here!

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Simone  |  January 31, 2007 at 3:12 pm

    KG,
    From one shopper to another I hope this helps…
    In JFK airport you can try the Athlete’s Foot which has boots, sneakers, and such or if you have a little time on your hands try the Queens Center Mall or a speciality shop called Hazel’s House of Shoes…..I like the latter nice shoes at a good price. The phone # for Hazel’s is 718-423-8666. I have a couple stores near the Newak airport also but need to get my other portfolio at home to get that info to you. Check back here later and I will post again….Good luck and safe travels!!

    Reply
  • 2. Leon  |  January 31, 2007 at 8:05 pm

    Just stuff your shoes with newspaper. That should work.

    Reply
  • 3. Dr. D.  |  January 31, 2007 at 8:10 pm

    Well, enjoy your trip KG. Pretty unusual destination I must say.

    Can’t help you with the shopping advice. Been to NJ twice (no tax on clothing btw) but that was long ago, and NY I have only been to once….not my place. Stay warm and do drop an occasional post while away.

    Reply
  • 4. Yamfoot  |  January 31, 2007 at 8:38 pm

    is this for work or otherwise?
    is a good thing you didnt plan to go to Trinidad Carnival or else yo uwoulda missed it.

    Reply
  • 5. revolution island  |  January 31, 2007 at 11:48 pm

    Enjoy your travels. Shalom.

    Reply
  • 6. revolution island  |  January 31, 2007 at 11:48 pm

    Enjoy your travels. Shalom.

    Reply
  • 7. scratchie  |  February 1, 2007 at 7:23 am

    Have a great trip. Can’t help with the shopping tips although my usual destination is New Jersey but I leave the shop selections to my aunt and the cousins. I tend to just tag along for the drive. Stay safe and warm.

    Reply
  • 8. Adrian  |  February 2, 2007 at 1:17 pm

    I’m not really up to speed with world current affairs but I hope you will be safe and out of conflict.

    Reply
  • 9. Prim  |  February 2, 2007 at 3:30 pm

    Have always wanted to go there! Keep us posted on your stay.

    BTW, hope you found suitable footwear. 😉

    Reply
  • 10. Mad Bull  |  February 3, 2007 at 7:32 pm

    Have fun, keep your head down and get back safely.

    Reply
  • 11. Stunner  |  February 3, 2007 at 8:56 pm

    By the time you see this you will be in Israel, so enjoy your stay, even though it’s work and stay safe. And don’t forget the pics!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
January 2007
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,219 hits

