And all that Jazz!!!

January 29, 2007 at 3:21 pm 10 comments

It was jazz and blues this weekend and I was there! I wasn’t in love with the ‘major’ performances (some super long set changes killed the vibe for me)  but there were some excellent ones earlier in the evening. Highlight was probably Monty Alexander with Dean Fraser and Tony Rebel jamming on the stage, Stylistics were excellent and, being a white chick, the Abba tribute was greatly enjoyed!

And, as those of you who have been before will know, the lyme was great. I love people watching and jazz is an excellent place for it. Good food, good drinks and good company – what more does a girl want?

The only problem is that I have now been spoilt. We stayed at the Wyndham which is on site, a mere 5-minute walk away. So all that talk of 3 hours from Montego Bay to the site didn’t apply to me. And yes, the crowds were huge. However, when you have a pass to a sky box, that really doesn’t matter either. Neither do the queues for the drinks and toilets, the rain or the tall person standing in front of you. None of those are concerns.

Which concerns me – I now don’t know if I’d be able to do jazz any other way! The only draw back I can think of is a slight tan mark on my wrist from the pass that was stuck on my wrist. But I think that’s something I can live with.

So now it’s back to reality. Well, some kind of reality. You see, the thing is that I’ve just been told that I might be going to Israel on Thursday for a month. Yup, you read that right. Just been told that I might be going away for a month on this week Thursday. And this week, I should also be getting the keys to the new house, so if I’m going away, I need to sort lots of things so that the guys can start doing the work while I’m away. And I also need to book flights and stuff for the summer as July / August in Europe gets booked out early. And I need to take my car to the garage as it is leaking oil. And I would need to sort out loads of things at work so that things didn’t fall apart in my area when I’m away. And obviously, would need to some how dig out some cold weather clothes which I haven’t used for over 2 years and see if they fit me still!

I should find out in the next day or two if I’m going… I think I’ll save the panicking until I know for certain!!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Unloved Israel here I come

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Leon  |  January 29, 2007 at 5:40 pm

    Lucky you. My head is near bursting with schoolwork.

    Reply
  • 2. J-FRESH  |  January 29, 2007 at 8:36 pm

    IM IN NORTH CAROLINA/USA!!!! I USE TO DATE A JAMAICAN GIRL AND SHE STAYED IN KINGSTON,I ADMIRE YOU WOMEN CAN WE CHAT MABEY!!!! CALL ME 1336-451 -1720

    Reply
  • 3. J-FRESH  |  January 29, 2007 at 8:40 pm

    IM 6’5 BROWN SKIN SHAWTY THATS LOOKIN TO FIND LOVE PERHAPS ,AND THATS THE HONEST TRUTH!!! IM ALSO IN MY TWENTYS

    Reply
  • 4. Adrian  |  January 29, 2007 at 11:19 pm

    omg j-fresh, thats so desperate lol.

    I’m glad this Jazz ‘n blues weekend worked out better than the last one.. good luck topping it next year 😀

    Reply
  • 5. Stunner  |  January 29, 2007 at 11:21 pm

    Sounds that overall, you had a great time at the Jazz festival.

    Sounds like you have a hectic week ahead of you, looks like you need to get yourself a personal assistant!

    Good to know you you finally should be getting the keys to your own crib!

    Reply
  • 6. Dr. D.  |  January 30, 2007 at 8:12 am

    Happy to hear you enjoyed yourself.

    Israel eeh? Interesting.

    Posy a short comment or so to let us know if you will be going.

    Reply
  • 7. Dr. D.  |  January 30, 2007 at 8:12 am

    That should read post…

    Reply
  • 8. scratchie  |  January 30, 2007 at 9:26 am

    All the way to Isreal…wow. Well if you get to go hope you have a good trip. Well if I was going to the festival it would have to be your way. I just can’t deal with the crowds. Not my thing at all.
    Take care.

    KG looks like you starting to get suitors lol

    Reply
  • 9. revolution island  |  January 30, 2007 at 3:31 pm

    Stay away from the Hezbollah.

    Reply
  • 10. Kingston Girl  |  January 31, 2007 at 12:35 pm

    Wow, an admirer. J-Fresh, I”ll let you know if i ever get reallly realllllly desperate!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
January 2007
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,219 hits

