Unloved

January 24, 2007 at 10:28 am 14 comments

Due to circumstances beyond my control (such as excess work and lack of internet), I haven’t posted in nearly 2 weeks. And I am now feeling very unloved. Not one person asked me how I was during that time or when I would be back. I could have been dying and you all wouldn’t have noticed. Not nice!

But anyway, on a completely different note, some people in the real world do love me. I went to a wedding at the weekend of a girl who I was good friends with in Prep School. Which means that I have known here for nearly 25 years! Life has taken us in opposite directions recently but it was nice to be there and see her get married.

And as is tradition, she threw her bouquet at the end of the evening, and all us ‘unmarried’ had to go out and try to catch it. I tried to avoid going up, but the people I was sitting with wouldn’t let that happen. So I stood at the back of the group, thinking “I’ve known her from the days that there were 16 girls in our class, which meant 2 netball teams and me and her sat on the side chatting. She couldn’t thrown then, she won’t be able to throw now.” But I was wrong. She gave it one hell of a throw, all the way round to the back and I automatically put up my hands to prevent it hitting my face and caught it.

So now I have a question for you – does it actually happen that the person who catches it marries next or is that just a tale?! As if it’s true, then I’d better sit down the man and have a talk with him!

On another completely different note, this is the point to stop reading if you are like Gela. I’m off to Jazz tomorrow!! I am flying down as soon as work finishes to meet the man down there and to have a fab weekend. I know the line up doesn’t look amazing, but that’s irrelevant to me – I just love any live music and the atmosphere at Jazz is always brilliant. I’m just hoping that it goes better than last year… otherwise there will be no chance of the bouquet prophecy coming true!

Entry filed under: On dating and relationships or lack there of, On leaving the city behind.

More Friday musings And all that Jazz!!!

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gela the city dweller  |  January 24, 2007 at 4:01 pm

    Oh, I’m hating everyone going to Jazz right now 😦

    But I did miss your posting, kept checking to see when you’d be back.

    Was getting ready to call the troops to go hunt for you 🙂

    I’m feeling so envious I don’t even want to say have fun, but have fun anyway 😦

    Reply
  • 2. Chief Lymer  |  January 24, 2007 at 7:29 pm

    Ahh, Jazz, kind of makes me homesick. Enjoy yourself while I freeze my arse off here in Yorkshire!

    By the way, I caught my sister’s bouquet and it took me eight years after to get married, so it really is a load of rubbish – but could be used as a bargaining tool!

    Reply
  • 3. Yamfoot  |  January 24, 2007 at 9:05 pm

    oooh, lovely Yorkshire. Worked at the Queens in Leeds for a few months.

    KG, the bouquet thing is a tale. I have caught several. Still single (and loving it)

    Reply
  • 4. Stunner  |  January 24, 2007 at 9:30 pm

    Do I hear wedding bells for the Kingston Girl? It seems more than coincidence that you caught that bouquet doesn’t it? 🙂

    Enjoy yourself at the Jazz & Blues Festival; take some pics for us unfortunate ones! Especially Gela 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Dr. D.  |  January 25, 2007 at 8:07 am

    Well, I am here to show you some love. I really haven’t done much blogging myself.

    Caught the bouquet eeeh? You waan me have a few words with the man on your behalf? Just joking!

    Enjoy the Jazz Festival.

    Reply
  • 6. rastagalnj  |  January 25, 2007 at 9:25 am

    Very untrue Kingston Girl!!! I book mark your blog and was not happy to not see any new entries. I did wonder what was up, so see 🙂 We are concerned just not always verbal.

    Bless

    Reply
  • 7. Leon  |  January 25, 2007 at 12:51 pm

    Talk about fear of commitment! I don’t believe the prophecy is true.

    Reply
  • 8. scratchie  |  January 25, 2007 at 1:16 pm

    Unloved?…not true. I checked here along my checking routine. Didn’t see any new posts so I figured you were just joining the rest of us who are finding it so hard to write these days.

    Have fun at the festival. Unlike Gela, I’m not jealous.

    Reply
  • 9. Prim  |  January 25, 2007 at 3:37 pm

    Glad you’re back!

    I was never one to participate in the whole ‘catch the bouquet’ portion of the reception in my single days. Was always too busy doing one of the following: chatting, eating or drinking.

    Have fun at the jazz festival!

    Reply
  • 10. strudel  |  January 25, 2007 at 5:48 pm

    Sorry, I was watching Laurel&Hardy Son of Desert, original, and didn’t realize you felt so lonely. Strudel

    Reply
  • 11. Mad Bull  |  January 26, 2007 at 6:11 am

    Nice to hear from you.

    Reply
  • 12. Kingston Girl  |  January 26, 2007 at 1:19 pm

    Am now feeling loved again!!!

    Lived in Leeds for a year – have lots of memories of grey skies from my time there!!

    And jazz was excellent last night…

    Reply
  • 13. revolution island  |  January 27, 2007 at 3:42 pm

    From January 06 when I started my sole practice I post about once or twice a month. Its only a tale if you dont walk up the aisle. Hope you enjoyed the Jazz. Are you going to trini?

    Reply
  • 14. Aurie  |  January 29, 2007 at 10:46 pm

    ah yuh next mi frien….get ready fi di proposal!!!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
January 2007
S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,859 hits