More Friday musings

January 12, 2007 at 3:54 pm 14 comments

It’s Friday and it couldn’t come fast enough. This is the first full week of work since before Christmas and I felt it! It is also my first week back at the gym since Christmas and I felt that as well.

So as a result, a quiet weekend is in order. The plans involve going to see Dreamgirls this evening, going shopping for a wedding present tomorrow (one of my good friends from prep school is getting married next weekend) and then going out for a meal with the man tomorrow night. Nice and quiet.

On a different note, I notice that the Caribbean bloggers are begining to get excited for Trini Carnival 2007. This is when I have to make an admission – I’m a carnival fan and have never been to Trini. Yes, I know that I need to go and I’d love it and I promise you one day I will. But before I moved abroad, I was too young to really go and enjoy it, then it was too far to go while I was in England and I haven’t had the chance since I got back here. And this year is going to be no different. Lots of my friends are heading there but the buying a house thing + going to Europe for 3 weeks this summer = no Trini. I’m aiming for 2008 now!

And on a final completely different note, why is it so damn hot at the moment? It’s January, it’s supposed to be good weather to make some heat of your our to keep  you warm rather than having to lay in a/c or in front of a fan all night! And yes, I shouldn’t be complaining – I’m sure some other people would love the heat at the moment!

Entry filed under: On nothing in particular.

Tuesday blues Unloved

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Taylor  |  January 12, 2007 at 6:21 pm

    summers gonna be a real scorcher. I was wondering the same re the heat. it is a bit hot compared to times gone by.. more green house damage i guess.

    Reply
  • 2. Mad Bull  |  January 12, 2007 at 9:08 pm

    Me not going either. Same reasons…

    Reply
  • 3. Stunner  |  January 12, 2007 at 11:52 pm

    Seems, you have a decent weekend planned out.

    I won’t be going to Trini for Carnival either. I would love to go one of these days.

    Reply
  • 4. Gela Words  |  January 13, 2007 at 12:18 am

    I’ve been wondering too why it’s so hot in January.
    I had said I was going to Trini carnival this year but while driving to work this morning, head some soca songs and I almost changed my mind.

    Well, since I too will soon have a mortgage and was pondering going to Europe in the fall months, I think I’ll pass on Jazz Fest. Was telling someone that luckily there’s nobody performing who excites me apart from Kenny then I heard this morning that Earth Wind & Fire going to be there and now I’m tempted again.

    Think I’ll definitley buy a lotto ticket tomorrow.

    Reply
  • 5. Adrian  |  January 13, 2007 at 12:52 am

    why is everybody complaining about heat? the place is pretty cold now where I live, in fact my fan has been plugged out since last year 😀

    Some how carnival isn’t my cup of tea.. and I am 1/2 trini heh

    *cough* I guess I am too decent :p

    Reply
  • 6. Leon  |  January 13, 2007 at 7:45 pm

    Hot? I haven’t recognized the heat. Trini Canival looks like it will be quite the event.

    Reply
  • 7. revolution island  |  January 14, 2007 at 1:54 pm

    Hello KG. I am headed t Jam in May for a family reunion. No trini for me either.

    Reply
  • 8. scratchie  |  January 14, 2007 at 11:05 pm

    Never been to Trini and not sure I’ll ever get there. Not that much of a soca fan so it really not a priority for me. Was just mentioning the heat to wifey. Breeze like crazy and hot as hell.

    Reply
  • 9. Sally Lomax  |  January 15, 2007 at 3:13 pm

    Hot????!!!!

    I wish!!

    NOT hot in the UK sadly!! Sounds bliss..

    Sally

    Reply
  • 10. Dr. D.  |  January 15, 2007 at 4:10 pm

    This ‘winter’ is a lot warmer than 2005…in ’05 we had nice cool weather from December to early March if I recall.

    I have only landed in T’dad and never left the airport…took a connection to Tobago. Next time I will make sure to see the larger of the two island territory.

    Reply
  • 11. Kingston Girl  |  January 15, 2007 at 5:04 pm

    One of my friends from foreign once said to me ‘ how do people ever have sex in this country? It’s too damn hot to want anyone else’s body near yours.’

    I told her that we manage but the winter is good… and it’s letting me down this year!

    Reply
  • 12. guyana-gyal  |  January 16, 2007 at 6:47 am

    How strange about the heat in January, Jamaica is always cool about this time. And I’ve been reading about curious things happening up north, like flowers blooming in the middle of winter, thinking it’s spring. Here, the weather is behaving quite normal though, falling into it’s right seasons.

    Reply
  • 13. Aurie  |  January 17, 2007 at 6:30 pm

    I feel ya pain. I’m heading to Jamaica in Feb to escape this winter blast up here in the northeast. So, I am actually looking for some heat right about now.

    Buying a house is certainly something that I am looking forward to soon. In the mean time, I’ll just live vicariously through your experiences. ciao

    Reply
  • 14. Reginald Bailly  |  February 8, 2007 at 7:58 pm

    Archivex Haiti is covering the Carnaval 2007 in Haiti. Visit us for a full coverage of the Carnaval in Haiti.
    This Weekend the Carnval is at Jacmel.

    See you …
    http://www.archivex-ht.com/Coverage_Haiti_Carnaval_2007.php

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
January 2007
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,219 hits

