It’s easy to be unhealthy

January 5, 2007 at 1:52 pm 11 comments

I spent this morning working on our budget for next year – ruining my eyes squinting at an excel spreadsheet and then hurting my brain trying to defend it to those higher up.

Afterwhich I felt the need for some junk food, specifically the seasoned fries that Island Grill makes. But being someone who is slightly concerned about my health, I decided to try and go without the soda. Yup, a small step but at least it is something!

I drove to the nearest Island Grill (there is nowhere within walking distance of my office that you can get food!) and looked at the order board I saw that a bottle of water was cheaper than a soda so I asked the girl to swap my soda for a bottle of water. And the bill increased by $60. In response to my confused look she said it was beccause I was changing a ‘combo.’ So I said but it’s cheaper for water than a soda, but apparently that makes no difference.

So I said, OK, just give me the sandwich and the fries and I don’t want a drink. She smiled, ‘certainly.’ The bill only went up by $20 this time – once again, charged for messing with a ‘combo.’

So I ended up taking the soda on a matter of principle. Yes, I know it’s not much money but that’s not the point! They are making enough money from me already – why should I have to give them extra money to get less? I then gave away the soda when I got back to work.

But really, why make things so hard for those so us who are just trying to be a little more healthy?

Entry filed under: On life as it is only in Jamaica.

Happy New Year everyone! Tuesday blues

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. owen  |  January 5, 2007 at 3:21 pm

    I love island grill. only thing I hate are the many questions that they ask. Combos aren’t ment to be broken, your like married to the soda. unless you order juice.

    Reply
  • 2. Adrian  |  January 5, 2007 at 4:31 pm

    You gave the soda away at work?

    So in your efforts in eating properly you throw your poison that is soda upon your co-worker?

    Reply
  • 3. Dr. D.  |  January 5, 2007 at 6:44 pm

    Have you ever noticed how ‘cheap’ the garden salads are?

    Reply
  • 4. Gela the city dweller  |  January 5, 2007 at 7:27 pm

    lol. Oh I’ve learnt to just take the combo as it’s cheaper even if I don’t want the soda. When you buy a combo the food is discountred.

    Reply
  • 5. Leon  |  January 6, 2007 at 3:46 pm

    A suh Island Grill a gwaan? Remind me to be wary of that place.

    Reply
  • 6. Stunner  |  January 6, 2007 at 4:45 pm

    LOL! I have always noticed how it is much more expensive it is to order something healthy with you combo instead of soda. I have accepted it, fast food places are anti-healthy, no matter what they say.

    Reply
  • 7. scratchie  |  January 6, 2007 at 10:27 pm

    I’ve stopped trying to beat the Island Grill combos. I take whatever the combo is and just live with it.

    Reply
  • 8. Mad Bull  |  January 7, 2007 at 6:41 am

    Same thing happens at KFC. The combos are discounted there too… Also at Wendies and Burger King. Its a junk food phenomenon. Just buy the combo and get rid of the drink, thats all… Dashy weh, even.

    Reply
  • 9. La Gringa  |  January 7, 2007 at 12:47 pm

    We have the same situation in Honduras. I order a hamburger and ask them to please take off the onions, the mayo, and the ketchup and instead put mustard. It costs me L. 3 more. That’s not much, it is just the principle of the thing, get less–pay more.

    Reply
  • 10. Irie Latino  |  January 8, 2007 at 11:41 am

    The only way to really eat healthy is to eat at home where you prepare your own food or carry your own food to work…neither of which are very practical when you don’t have a lot of time on your hands. Our lifestyle pushes us to fast food and unhealthy eating habits. But, I really love those seasoned fries and the fried ripe plantains, too.

    Reply
  • 11. Cool Destiny  |  January 9, 2007 at 2:18 pm

    Never mess with a combo. You will get poor instantly. Their salads are good too so you could try that … and it is not in a combo.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
January 2007
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,219 hits

