Happy New Year everyone!

January 3, 2007 at 11:22 am 8 comments

Unfortunately Kingston Girl is not feeling too good at this point in the year. You see, I have managed to pick up an injury, I’ve hurt a muscle in my upper right arm whcih means that it hurts like hell whenever I lift my arm up – even simple things like moving my arms while driving or talking on the phone are painful.

I have to admit that this injury was obtained in a rather unusual manner. One which came about as a result of too much time off over the holiday season!

Before your imaginations get carried away, let me explain. The new house has one little problem. Well, actually lots of very little and annoying problems – mosquitoes. And this problem has been addressed by obtaining a zapper over the holiday, you know, those mini-tennis racquet looking things that have electricity in them and you hit mosquitoes with them. Now this zapper is the most amazing zapper I’ve ever seen. Each time it gets a mosquito, you can hear the mosquito frying and see the explosion. Seriously.

But it now appears that one annnoying mosquito got me carried away. I was minding my own business, watching a cheesy holiday film on tv when he would not leave me alone. I warned him but he kept coming back. So I zapped him with great gusto. And in doing so, managed to yank my arm and hurt the muscle.

Great way to start a year – with a sore arm caused by a mosquito! Oh well, at least it’s not malaria!

P.S. Apologies to anyone whose comment/s haven’t appeared… I know that sometimes WordPress is overly protective and sends perfectly polite comments to the bin so I go and reclaim them every now and again. However, I went today to have a check and saw over 100 comments to be sorted through and after the first 10 or so advertising loans (is that because I’ve mentioned buying a house?!) and then another 10 or so advertising sex enhancers (hmmm wonder why that one came through…) I got bored and gave up. So if yours were further down, sorry!

Entry filed under: On life as it is only in Jamaica, On nothing in particular.

Moving house… and merry Christmas!!! It’s easy to be unhealthy

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Strudel  |  January 3, 2007 at 2:30 pm

    ehy K.G. did you catch the fridge-robber?. In case the bird is still free and operating, i would suggest to the mother of all relevant weapons: microRFID. i skip the very interesting details for now. Strudel

    Reply
  • 2. Mad Bull  |  January 3, 2007 at 10:31 pm

    Thank Yahweh, a post at last;) KG, no one has been posting, I was beginning to fear that I was the only one left on the planet! Anyway, heres a tip. Re the comments, you can scroll through them pretty quickly, because spam tends to have lots of links. If you see comment without lots of hyperlinks (which usually are in a different color from regular text, then you check that commnet. Once it has lots of hyperlinks, don’t even look at it, just scroll on by. Thats what I do and I find it works for me. Try that method and see how it works for you.

    Reply
  • 3. Mad Bull  |  January 3, 2007 at 10:32 pm

    By the way, I don’t buy your little story, but I will say it was creative! A mosquito indeed! ;D

    Reply
  • 4. Dr. D.  |  January 4, 2007 at 8:31 am

    I know the zapper well…had one myself…they all tend to go bad after a while though…

    Hope the arm recovers speedily.

    Reply
  • 5. Sally Lomax  |  January 4, 2007 at 9:04 am

    Happy New Year! And hope the arm gets better soon!!

    Sally

    Reply
  • 6. Leon  |  January 4, 2007 at 1:05 pm

    Happy 2k7. Hope your arm gets better. Better than malaria huh?

    Reply
  • 7. Gela the city dweller  |  January 4, 2007 at 9:01 pm

    Damn, I was getting all excited imagining something different, had even gone for pen and paper cuz I thought I was about to learn something new.

    Yes, I’m home and should be posting but still recovering from the lovely NYE weekend. I left the airport unpack and then pack again for the previously planned Mobay Beach Resort weekend. Did anyone see me on tv? CVM did a live broadcast.

    So even though I have things that i want to write about, I’m just lolling back wondering why every weekend can’t be a beach resort weekend.

    I’ll do a post this weekend.

    Reply
  • 8. Kingston Girl  |  January 5, 2007 at 8:35 am

    Arm is now improving – getting well enough that I should contemplate ending my Christmas holiday from the gym now!

    Gela – how could I recognise you on tv when you don’t have a picture on your site?!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
January 2007
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,273 hits

