Was it you?

December 18, 2006 at 9:42 am 21 comments

I was helping the man to host a function at his house yesterday when a face that looked familiar walked in. It took me a while to place it – maybe it was one of his friends I’d met before, someone from the golf club or something like that. The man was short and brownish, and looked quite serious at the start of the day.

After a while, it suddenly hit me – the man looked like the photos I have seen of Dr D! I wasn’t sure what to do next, I didn’t want to ask him in front of everyone … ‘excuse me, are you someone I know from the internet?’ I didn’t think that would go down too well in the present company – and besides non-bloggers still think it’s sleazy to meet people online.

The other thing is that most of my friends (and this includes the man) do not know I blog. I like that. I like to be able to post things without them all knowing. And I like not having to explain to non-bloggers why I want to share my thoughts with the world. It’s not a shameful secret or anything – it’s just easier not to tell about it sometimes!

So I did nothing. Until now. Dr D, was that you??

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Life in the tropics Moving house… and merry Christmas!!!

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sally Lomax  |  December 18, 2006 at 10:13 am

    Oh come on Dr. D……. I can’t wait to know..

    And can we have a sequel please if it was you…..

    Sally

    Reply
  • 2. Dr. D.  |  December 18, 2006 at 6:41 pm

    Well, well. KG, in fact it was someone else who apparently reads my site and yours sometimes (who is also a part of the ‘company’) that you helped to entertain yesterday that pointed you out to me! He mentioned your writing about ‘the man’ and golf and put two and two together, and recognized you…..Apparently my detective skills are quite poor….as I did not really recognize you at all…..maybe I need to get the glasses checked.

    Yes, it was I. And I thought about approaching you too, but the time and situation was just not quite right. So, now you know suppem else ’bout me that the vast majority of bloggers don’t. And you will promise to keep it that way….not that there is anything wrong with it. (Rahtid, I can jus see dem a wonda a wah de hell me a chat ’bout eeh!? 😉

    I also thought of asking ‘the man’ but thought to myself that he may not be aware of your internet writings, so I left it alone. Regards the serious appearance, I can be like that sometimes (I hadn’t had any wine yet! ;-)) but also, there is much that is expected of me in the not too distant future from the ‘company’ and I did have a bit of stuff thinking on.

    Nice to have ‘met’ you, and I hope at our next encounter we will have perhaps a lot to share.

    Reply
  • 3. Dr. D.  |  December 18, 2006 at 6:42 pm

    And BTW, ‘the man’ won’t hear about your blogging from me! 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Gela Words  |  December 18, 2006 at 11:11 pm

    Whoooo, nice. You got almost got busted!

    So what’s the something that only KG now knows about you Doc? Come on, please tell.

    Reply
  • 5. madbull  |  December 19, 2006 at 7:32 am

    Cho! Is not only KG that knows it, if I am correct. (and I think I am)
    Gela, don’t wonder about it too long, its not that big of a deal… don’t know why the Doc is making so much of it.

    Reply
  • 6. Kingston Girl  |  December 19, 2006 at 8:45 am

    Dr D – your detective skills are truely appalling. However, I am grateful to you for not mentioning it to the man as he is currently unaware of this site! We will indeed keep this between us (and the other mysterious man) for now

    I am now thinking that we can really have the others going on what exactly I know about you that they don’t…

    Make your guesses everyone – most outrageous one wins… a drink at the next blog meet-up!

    Reply
  • 7. Adrian  |  December 19, 2006 at 10:58 am

    blogsphere collides with real world.. heh

    It also happened to me once before at a party at my friends house, only thing the chick had the cajones to come over to me to verify I was who she thought. kinda creepy to have strange people be able to identify you while you are in the dark.

    Reply
  • 8. guyana-gyal  |  December 19, 2006 at 3:17 pm

    I WANT TO KNOW. And I know everybody WANTS TO KNOW TOO, yet it’s not a big deal, MB says. Dr. D has six fingers on one hand?

    I love the mystery of the whole encounter, your friends not knowing and so on. Knowing me with my ‘fass’ self though, I would’ve sidled up to Dr. D and ask, very polite, “Excuse me, are you Dr. D? A friend was telling me you’re a dermatologist.”

    Reply
  • 9. guyana-gyal  |  December 19, 2006 at 3:19 pm

    He wears glasses…he got new glasses?

    Reply
  • 10. Leon  |  December 19, 2006 at 7:10 pm

    Lucky you. I haven’t been recognized for my blogging. I guess you should feel like a bit of a celebrity, huh?

    Reply
  • 11. scratchie  |  December 20, 2006 at 2:23 pm

    I got busted about two years ago by a classmate. I posted about a discussion we had in class and she put it together really quickly. I think she still drops by the sites from time to time but she has never commented (to my knowledge anyway).

    Reply
  • 12. Island Spice  |  December 20, 2006 at 10:28 pm

    so Dr. D is real eh? cool.
    LOL@ Guyana Gyal and the 6 fingers.
    I had a blogger run in.. saw them in the mall and my face lit up and i almost said hi.. then I remembered that my blog is anonymous (the other blogger’s is not) and my friend who was with me knows nothing about it. So i jus kept on walking..

    Reply
  • 13. Yamfoot  |  December 20, 2006 at 11:14 pm

    well this is the thing you see, why I cut out my face when I put up pictures….until the contact lense entry.

    oh, since I picked up the lenses today, i can remove those pics now. lemme go do that.

    Dr D neva tell yuh some joke KG?

    Reply
  • 14. Stunner  |  December 20, 2006 at 11:59 pm

    Encounters of the ‘Blogger Kind’, ooh so exciting! I’ve never encountered any bloggers apart from the ones I met at the Bloggers linkup.

    Reply
  • 15. Campfyah  |  December 21, 2006 at 7:07 pm

    How cool…secrets out in the open or shall we say eyes wide shut… Good to meet up with fellow bloggers, so far I only know one fellow in blogland and he is the person that introduced me to blogging.

    Reply
  • 16. Dr. D.  |  December 22, 2006 at 8:50 am

    Merry Christmas to you and ‘the man’ as well KG 😉

    Reply
  • 17. Kingston Girl  |  December 22, 2006 at 8:54 am

    As I always say – this country is too damn small!

    So Spice, if I see anyone looking at me oddly in the mall over the holidays (or if I make it to Frenchmen), I’ll know it’s you?!

    Reply
  • 18. cream  |  December 22, 2006 at 9:59 am

    Piccolo Mondo!
    Watch out, we might all join you on your holiday!
    Just have enough Rum for a few Mojitos!
    Have a great Christmas! It’s quite icy up here.

    Reply
  • 19. scratchie  |  December 22, 2006 at 11:49 am

    Merry Christmas to you and yours.

    Reply
  • 20. CoolDestiny  |  December 22, 2006 at 11:07 pm

    That was very cool and both of you being discreet enough to keep it on the DL until here & now.

    I know for sure if my identity was revealed, I’d stop blogging. Hence no pic of me 🙂

    So, whaapen??? Buss di secret man. Cho.

    Reply
  • 21. Irie Diva  |  September 19, 2007 at 7:38 pm

    well after reading bout ur entire life history here if i see u a road im gonna come up to u and say “waah gwaan kingston girl” and ejoy the weird stalkerish look i see on ur face! haha

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
December 2006
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 55,219 hits

