Random list making

December 13, 2006 at 2:59 pm 11 comments

I’m sorry I appear to be neglecting this site at the moment. It’s that busy time of year. I am in the process of trying to get lots of things done at work before everyone disappears for Christmas as my January looks mad, while fitting in the pre-Christmas work ‘meetings’ (otherwise known as an excuse to eat cake) and then trying to do something to prepare for Christmas and attend some parties!

 So in the place of any time to post long and interesting stories, I’m going to resort to a list again:

1. I went to the UWI Carol Service on Sunday which was excellent as usual. And as usual saw loads of people who I hadn’t seen since last year which was nice. So that made me feel all Christmassy.

2. I’m eating too much cake and not going to the gym enough. And that is before the sorrel was made at home last night and added into the equation.

3. I have yet to buy a single Christmas present for anyone living in Jamaica. And the plazas are mad. I intend to take a day next week and go in early when hopefully I can find a parking space and get it all done at once! And I still don’t know what to buy the man – he has informed me that I can to a golf shop, tell them his name and they will point out lots of things that he likes. However, that seems too boring to me so am searching my brain for an alternative…

4. I’m becoming hooked to the new TBS show ‘My boys.’ It’s not exactly rocket science but it makes me laugh – which is what is needed at 10 on a Tuesday night.

5. I have finally sent my Christmas cards to Englad. Which means if any of my UK friends are reading this, I’m sorry but they will be late! But be glad you are getting them at all – I was queuing for so long at the post office to send them that they nearly ended up in the bin instead.

6. I was proposed to! On Sunday! Well, not really proposed to, more like I was told that I was going to get married. Via my father. By the carpenter guy. My dad saw the carpenter and told him that I needed some bookcases making for my new house and when he heard that I would be moving in there on my own, he informed my father that he was going to marry me and move in with me to keep me safe.

Oh well, if all else fails, at least I know I won’t become a scary old cat lady on my own!

Entry filed under: On dating and relationships or lack there of, On life as it is only in Jamaica.

This country is too small!!! Life in the tropics

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Leon  |  December 13, 2006 at 7:28 pm

    You’ve been busy. Tthat last line frightened me!

    Reply
  • 2. Yamfoot  |  December 13, 2006 at 7:40 pm

    I will become a scary old DOG lady on my own as mi nuh inna di married bizniz.
    So…the carpenter been watching you! Hmmmm……

    In our family, we ask each other what they want. Then we go and buy one of the two or three they have suggested. On Christmas morning, we go “oh, how lovely…how did you know???” all very jokingly. Works everytime.

    Thankfully, I can do bank gift vouchers for The Nephew and The Niece, and my sister and bro both told me what they wanted. Mummy is easy to do, Pops is a problem though. And that’s all I have to buy for. I don’t buy presents for anybody else.

    Reply
  • 3. Dr. D.  |  December 13, 2006 at 8:09 pm

    Might I suggest a nice bottle of cologne for the man? Or is that boring too?

    Good luck to be facing what I call the ‘gridlock’ next week. I started what I had to do real early this year and am 95% done.

    Only sent three cards to ‘foreign’ this year…by courier…my cousin who was going to Ft. Lauderdale.

    Enjoy Christmas…try not to get too caught up in the hectic side of things.

    And sorry that we your blog pals will not be invited en masse to what might have been your wedding! 😉

    Reply
  • 4. Prim  |  December 13, 2006 at 9:27 pm

    This Christmas I’ve been quite organized. I have two more to get so this time around I can relax, sip my sorrel, eat some panetone (hubby is Italian) & enjoy the season. I hate crowds and try to avoid them at all costs.

    I tend to get the man more practical gifts…we’re not that creative this time of year. So no surprises under the tree!

    Reply
  • 5. experienceaurie  |  December 14, 2006 at 6:52 am

    Lawd!! When mi come back a yaad, mi need a real cheese beef patty and den Knutsford Blvd’s Jamrock Cafe…..plus some good sorrell from Manchester at grandma’s house *sigh*

    Oh man! I’m sad now. LoL.

    Reply
  • 6. Kingston Girl  |  December 14, 2006 at 9:38 am

    Leon – frightened by the last line?? The first thing I intend to do once I have my furniture in my new house is to go down the road to the JSPCA and get myself a cat. That way, someone will always be pleased to see me when I get home at night!

    Yamfoot – I’ve asked my family – I have one useful suggestion so far but others haven’t been very helpful this year

    Dr D – He already has so many colognes that I wouln’t know where to start to try and not replicate! A cappuchino machine is my best idea so far !

    Prim – I’m jealous that you are so sorted! I tend to do practical presents – I’m asking for things for my house this year.

    Experience – have to admit that I don’t think jamrock is anywhere as good as it used to be… but a real cheese patty,. I’m with you there

    Reply
  • 7. Cool Destiny  |  December 14, 2006 at 10:08 am

    All the best gift hunting. How about a massage/pedicure/manicure treat for the gentleman? If he is a golfer, then you can’t go wrong with getting him some nice golf stuff that you could probably get engraved with his name or initials or something. Colognes are so outdone. I’ve long since moved past the traditional man gifts. Electronics are a safe bet as well if he’s into that sort of thing, CD collection of his favourite artists, DVD of his favourite old movie …. ok, I gave you lots of ideas there 🙂

    Await wedding date … hehehhehehehehe … 🙂 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. guyana-gyal  |  December 14, 2006 at 11:05 am

    Hm, you can now sing, if I had a hammer, I’d hammer in the morning…

    Oh, is the lady with the dawgs out of your new place?

    Reply
  • 9. Sally Lomax  |  December 14, 2006 at 3:28 pm

    Wow!

    Well that’s a different way to propose!!

    Is he in any way nice? is it worth a date at least?

    Sally

    Reply
  • 10. Gela  |  December 14, 2006 at 7:38 pm

    CD those were good ideas, I’ve been thinking of cologne for all the men in my life, now what ideas do you have for a 3yo girl, 6yo girl, 7yo boy, 9yo girl? Just came from liguanea and still haven’t decided.

    KG, you can’t do better than a carpenter, I suggest you drop the ‘man’ and look into this new prospect. think about it your house will be filled with furniture, hehe.

    Reply
  • 11. Irie Diva  |  September 19, 2007 at 7:30 pm

    now that i see experience aurie pop up i believe he is how i found u so credit him there…i havent read his blog yet tho. i was jus searching around for other jamaican/caribbean blogs to link to my site. and besides it seemed too political at the time.

    and i wonder how many duplicate gifts there are in yamfoot’s family with that theory of getting something from a list of 2 or three!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
December 2006
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 55,273 hits

