This country is too small!!!

December 8, 2006 at 11:24 am 11 comments

I was talking to the man last night and he asked me if I knew an acquaintance of his, we’ll call this guy Z*. Nope, never heard of the guy before.

Then he asked if I knew Z’s wife. Nope, never heard of her before either.

Apparently Z was asking him if he was going to be going to the church up the hill** for Christmas.

So obviously the acquaintance of his knew of me and knew of what my dad does. And before you ask, I don’t think of myself as a well known person – I don’t appear on page 2 of the observer, I don’t do PR for a big company and my family doesn’t have a famous name!

I’ve never met Z. I don’t know what group he hangs around with. I don’t know his wife. The man doesn’t know them well. But someone had mentioned to Z about me and the man having a thing.

This country is too damn small.

On a completely different matter, I have decided that it is time to start feeling Christmassy. I have put the ‘Christmas in the Sun’ album on my work computer (excellent album! All Jamaican and happy.) I am going to a lime at a friend’s house this evening with the main point being that we are going to have drinks and look at her Christmas tree. And I am planning to take a day off next week to do my Christmas shopping. All I need now is a good Christmas backgroup for my computer – any suggestions?? 

* Just using Z as it is a letter I don’t use often enough in this blog.

** My dad is the minister of a little church up a hill

Entry filed under: On dating and relationships or lack there of.

Things I have learnt since I last posted… Random list making

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gela Words  |  December 8, 2006 at 6:27 pm

    Oh yes the country is small. I’ve discovered that it’s not good to say negative things about anyone since they might be related.

    Reply
  • 2. Mad Bull  |  December 9, 2006 at 10:25 am

    Ha hah! Ahh bwoi! And you aint been to Cayman? Now that is small! Ev’rybady know you business!

    Reply
  • 3. Leon  |  December 9, 2006 at 7:12 pm

    This world’s too damn small my dear.

    Reply
  • 4. Island Spice  |  December 9, 2006 at 11:23 pm

    Z really is an underused letter isn’t it?

    Reply
  • 5. Island Spice  |  December 9, 2006 at 11:24 pm

    Z really is an underused letter…

    Reply
  • 6. scratchie  |  December 11, 2006 at 8:25 pm

    Small fi true. Just yesterday I was talking to a lady at church and somewhere in there I found out that her father was someone I knew before he died some 14 years ago. I just never put two and two together with her last name. Besides I thought she was married.

    Reply
  • 7. Gorilla  |  December 12, 2006 at 11:23 pm

    Gues that is why justice is small…. mmmmm i wonder??

    Reply
  • 8. guyana-gyal  |  December 13, 2006 at 12:02 pm

    Haha, yes, that’s the problem with living in tiny li’l countries. Everybody know when you sneeze!!

    Reply
  • 9. Dr. D.  |  December 13, 2006 at 8:15 pm

    Jamiaca is small, but at the same time compared to a lot of the other islands we large.

    Reply
  • 10. hecklefind  |  December 13, 2006 at 9:29 pm

    Large small ???? all i know is, it is so beautiful and i implore you all to plan a weekend trip and circle the likkle rock it nice…. ohhh and you might meet up on a lot of people you know.

    Reply
  • 11. Kingston Girl  |  December 14, 2006 at 9:40 am

    I couldn’t imagine living somewhere like Cayman – way too small! I have to admit that there are times when I like the island being small – but other times I just wish people would mind their own business!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
December 2006
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 55,273 hits

