Music and makeup

November 21, 2006 at 4:48 pm 15 comments

It’s happening again. But this year, it’s earlier than before. Way too early in my humble opinion. My rule is not until December. and even then, some variety in life is still good so Christmas music 24 hours a day isn’t necessary (and that is a hint to my collegues… but as they don’t know about this page (I hope), they won’t get it – huh).

Anyway, what happened is this. I went to the supermarket on Saturday. A different supermarket to the one I usually go to as it was on my way. I wanted some fruit, but was also in the mood to wander around and see if I found something interesting. You know, just something different that might inspire me to cook!

Until I walked into the supermarket when I came across a woman on a keyboard and a young boy playing a congo drum. And they were playing christmas music very badly. In a timpani style. You know, the ping ping ping type of music. And it was loud.

I dashed to the fruit and grabbed it quickly, ran to the cashier and then nearly threw my money at her in my haste to get out of the place. Seeing my obvious distress, she enquired as to what was going on. When I explained that I was in severe pain, she informed me that the manager had decided the music was cheerful and would spread good will to all men. As a result, the people would be there all day every day until Christmas.

So far, it has succeeded in:

  • giving all the cashiers headaches;
  • making me walk around going bah humbug; and
  • losing one customer until that cheer is well and truely gone!

On a seperate note, I have just learnt that unfortunately the mac site doesn’t accept non-US or Canada credit cards. This is very upsetting to me as I have a collegue going to the US for Thanksgiving and I was planning on ordering important supplies and having them sent to her so she could bring them for me. (This is very important as I love mac and it is like 3 times the price here…) So I was forced to go for another method and once again prove that I am returning more and more to my roots as a Jamaican female.

The man is also going up for Thanksgiving. He now has in his possession a print out of what I require which he can just had to the salesperson and voila, new makeup for me!

Entry filed under: On nothing in particular.

Just not first thing in the morning Floods

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Prim  |  November 21, 2006 at 7:07 pm

    Know what you mean about the Christmas music. Where I work they play the same CD over and over again. I find myself leaving the place with the same songs in my head. NOT nice. And I used to enjoy holiday music.

    You just reminded me that I need to go out and get new MAC eyeshadows.

    Reply
  • 2. Leon  |  November 21, 2006 at 7:20 pm

    I thought I was the only one that realized it!

    Reply
  • 3. Mad Bull  |  November 22, 2006 at 6:56 am

    You should tell them that the people playing the music stink, and that they should at least get good people.
    Soon I will be hearing the carol of the bells…. sweet! :p

    Reply
  • 4. Dr. D.  |  November 22, 2006 at 8:10 am

    What pissed me off was the fact that the roadis stations started playing carols from late OCTOBER! It is all tied to the commercial aspect of the season unfortunately.

    Reply
  • 5. Dr. D.  |  November 22, 2006 at 8:11 am

    That should be radio stations…..

    Reply
  • 6. guyana-gyal  |  November 22, 2006 at 8:39 am

    Folks here don’t overdo it in November, too many other religions around, hahaha…but when it gets to Dec. they go wild. I stay out of it, play my own music from India.

    Reply
  • 7. Cool Destiny  |  November 22, 2006 at 6:15 pm

    Radio stations played the 1st carol in June! It gets more and more ridiculous every day. Christmas was actually my least favourite time of year, but my BF loves it so it’s kinda rub off on me. I started playing my favourite christmas songs yesterday!!!

    You should tell them to kick the band to the curb cause it’s bad for business. They’ll listen to you.

    Reply
  • 8. Yamfoot  |  November 22, 2006 at 7:51 pm

    I bought a mac lip glass once and although it looks nice on, it kind of made my lips itch and get dry so I don’t use mac anymore. which reminds me, i should really throw it away!

    estee lauder lipsticks I like. Fashion fair or maybelline face powder and as I dont wear anything apart from lipstick and face powder, that is it for me.

    Reply
  • 9. revolution island  |  November 23, 2006 at 5:31 pm

    lip gloss? I thought you were taking about computers.

    Reply
  • 10. Kingston Girl  |  November 24, 2006 at 8:41 am

    If I was buying anything to do with a computer, I’d have asked you all for advice first! Makeup however I can manage!

    Reply
  • 11. Cool Destiny  |  November 24, 2006 at 11:56 am

    I neglected to mention that I have also started using Firefox’s Tinseltown theme!! I’m so Christmassy!

    Reply
  • 12. Gela Words  |  December 1, 2006 at 3:01 am

    I spent the week before I left checking for MAC NW45 but the two stores that sell in Jamaica didn’t have that shade. I can’t understand why, more than half the Ja population is my shade, shouldn’t that tell them something?

    As a matter of fact I just check the MAC site for locations in Washington DC where I can make purchase tomorrow.

    Reply
  • 13. Gela Words  |  December 1, 2006 at 3:04 am

    Wait until they start playing Mariah Carey’s xmas album. THEN, you’ll go mad, since every single store/business place in Jamaica owns it. Which reminds me, I must dust off mine to put in the car. hehe.

    Reply
  • 14. Simplenigma  |  December 8, 2006 at 9:50 am

    I work for MAC…they just don’t know it yet. LOL.

    But I’ve been campaigning for a store in JA. There’s one in Trini, so I figure it’s only a matter of time and some well placed letters…

    If yall will help me with a petition, it could be on like boil cawn…hehe

    Reply
  • 15. Irie Diva  |  September 19, 2007 at 7:07 pm

    hahahahaaaaaa jus as i predicted, same post one year later! *irie diva dances like she won a bet*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
November 2006
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 55,222 hits

