Just not first thing in the morning

November 17, 2006 at 10:08 am 8 comments

I logged on and checked my email this morning, just as I do every morning. And there was a larger than usual quantity of new mail, the reason for which quickly became obvious.

Someone had sent an email to my graduating class from high school mailing list that was set up a while ago so we could plan a reunion. This email said very simply ‘hi guys, just checking what is up with you all.’ And it started an avalanche.  And this avalanche consisted of three types of responses:

Option 1: I am doing great as I have just had a gorgeous baby

Option 2: I am doing great as I have just / am about to get married

Option 3: I am doing great as I have just got my PhD / been made managing director etc

I am tempted to reply with Option 4: I am doing great. I am not getting married (and good luck to you all and I hope you don’t get divorced too soon). I am not having a baby (as I am enjoying my sleep, my own money and not changing diapers). I am not running the world, nor am I about to soon (because I refuse to work 70 hour weeks). But I am very happy!

On reflection however, I think that might sound a bit bitter. Which I’m not really. It’s just that an avalanche of those emails first thing in the morning makes me think what am I really doing with my life?

PS: I have just realised that WordPress has an automatic span thingy and when I checked it, I found some real comments in there. So sorry if yours have been deleted by accident!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

There is a thief in my office Music and makeup

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. beaver  |  November 17, 2006 at 6:51 pm

    Oh honey I’m sorry. But you know:
    – most people who just got married wish they still were single and living the crazy life ;
    – most people who just had a baby regret it every night a 4 in the morning ;
    – most people who are possibly/potentially running the world are also very frustrated as they have no possibility of having a baby or of finding love.

    Basically – they all envy YOU !

    Chin up !

    Reply
  • 2. Dr. D.  |  November 17, 2006 at 7:21 pm

    Perhaps you can reply in a more innovative way.

    Have had two Class Reunions, one for 20, the other for 25 years. I was on the planning committee for both events and if they plan another…I simply wish to to know the date and venue. I not planning nutten more. Anywayz, now you know I left 5th Form in ’81.

    Reply
  • 3. eemanee  |  November 18, 2006 at 3:14 pm

    Girl, i know exactly what you mean!

    sometimes it seems like all the world is moving and leaving you behind.

    Reply
  • 4. Cool Destiny  |  November 19, 2006 at 8:33 am

    I have long ceased to measure my accomplishments with those of my peers. Truth is, they may have done all those things, but do not have peace of mind or be truly happpy … and that’s what I am so to hell with them and their PHds. If you are satisfied with your life, don’t let anybody else’s make you think less of yours!

    And I thoroughly enjoy changing diapers and I’ve been blessed with an angel who sleeps through the night so no getting up at 4 for me!!! Tunks 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Leon  |  November 20, 2006 at 1:44 pm

    Happiness is all that really matters. You have people in big postions with big pay that cry themsleves to sleep at night.

    Reply
  • 6. Island Spice  |  November 20, 2006 at 2:24 pm

    hahahhahaha. I wonder if you were in my class? They [we] are having a reunion in December and I am abso-fcuking-lutely dreading it. All the Phd’s, mommies and CEO’s. *sigh* I dont fall into any category. I am thinking of taking along BJ as my VERY young date and causing a stir. Or just not going. As yet undecided. Dont need that sh!t ruining my christmas holiday nah.

    Reply
  • 7. Kingston Girl  |  November 20, 2006 at 3:31 pm

    Am now cheerful again – things are movingo n the house so at least feel I’m achieving something there! Also had a good (bitchy) girls night out at the weekend where we scandaled everyone else to makeus feel better!

    Reply
  • 8. Irie Diva  |  September 19, 2007 at 7:04 pm

    yes that always do the trick eh

    tsk tsk tsk *waves holier than thou finger*

    😛

    (is it sad that im replying as if u posted yesterday?)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
November 2006
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 55,222 hits

