Negril

October 31, 2006 at 12:04 pm 9 comments

Well, I went to Negril at the weekend but only used my camera for boring work photos (I had to be there for a church service on the Sunday morning – so that was used as a good excuse to get the man to take me for the whole weekend to Negril). But as you all sounded so excited about Negril (I can’t belive how many of the Jamaicans commenting haven’t been there in ages), I dug up some photos from the last time I was there this summer for your enjoyment!

 

 The cliffs. You can just see Ricks Cafe in the distance, which has been completely redone since Ivan and now looks like a Margueritaville. Don’t believe the hype, there are lots better places on the cliffs to have your drink while the sun sets.

The beach. Perfect as usual. This time I didn’t stay at my usual place on the main beach but stayed at the new Riu on what used to be Bloody Bay. It was kinda sad as I remember Bloody Bay from the days when it was all open to anyone and was a kinda overgrown wonderland. Now it is all-inclusive paradise (or hell – depends on your viewpoint!).  However, the hotel was nice, well designed etc. But I know why it is at the cheaper end of the all-inclusives… no room service, real rock instead of red stripe beer and the worst wine I’ve had in ages!

I can just about manage the transition back to Kingston, although work on Monday morning was hard. But the transition is made easier as this weekend I’m going for a girls weekend in Ochi – bring it on!!!

Entry filed under: On leaving the city behind.

Modernisation? Little bits of not much

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gela Words  |  October 31, 2006 at 7:03 pm

    Absolutely not fair! I’m pouting cuz I have to stay at home reading boring manuals 😦

    Well, have fun for all of us

    Reply
  • 2. Leon  |  October 31, 2006 at 8:29 pm

    Beautiful. Absolutely beautiful. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  • 3. m.b.  |  October 31, 2006 at 8:50 pm

    Oh God, how I wish I was going to Ochie for a girls weekend! 😉 Nah, just kidding, but I do feel the need to hit up places like Negril, Ochie, etc.

    Reply
  • 4. Cool Destiny  |  November 1, 2006 at 6:40 am

    Those pics making me reminisce. I can’t wait to start carrying my son away for the weekend. That was one of my favourite things to do. We a go pon tour as soon as him big enough.

    Reply
  • 5. Prim  |  November 1, 2006 at 9:06 am

    Negril is gorgeous. Wish I could pack my bags and go! 😦

    Reply
  • 6. Island Spice  |  November 1, 2006 at 9:19 am

    Negril is really like a lil piece of Heaven, isn’t it? Hey, are you a west end or a beach strip kind of girl? I LOVE LOVE LOVE the west end.. narrow winding roads, jagged rocks and caves, sea spray … wild peace. I NEED to go! Thanks for the photos.

    Reply
  • 7. scratchie  |  November 1, 2006 at 1:50 pm

    Thanks for the photos. I have actually only been to Negril once in my life. Can you imagine 😦

    Reply
  • 8. Cream  |  November 3, 2006 at 1:58 pm

    Fantastic!
    Was dipping my toes in the Med last week but this is tremendous!

    Reply
  • 9. Irie Diva  |  September 19, 2007 at 5:20 pm

    i haven’t read this post yet im just marking where i reach. this is like a good book i cant seem to put it down. kudos on your interesting way to tell us about your much like so many other’s life!!!(it seems)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
October 2006
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,219 hits

