Why never to get into a relationship

October 23, 2006 at 1:02 pm 9 comments

I had to go to a family function with the man* last week. You know the type, lots of people there who haven’t seen each other in ages, and I knew no one there. Which, in Jamaica, is very unusual.

After wandering around for a while we sat at a table and his elderly aunt (Aunt X) came and sat with us. As he has manners, he introduced me. This is my friend** Kingston Girl. Then he saw someone he wanted to say hi to but I was comfie with my drink so off he went and left me with her.

 And things were ok for a while, I made my polite conversation etc. Then another Aunt, lets say Aunt Y  came over. So Aunt X introduces me to Aunt Y – This is (the man’s), FRIEND, Kingston Girl.

At which point I had to bite my lips to stop me laughing out loud. It was the say she said it, the pause before the word ‘friend, the way friend was said like it had quotations around it or maybe like she wanted to add ‘and I’m sure there are benefits involved’ with it!

Anyway, the two ladies got over that and put down their raised eyebrows and started what was obviously a long running and facinating discussion for them. They discussed where to buy electric generators. And which ones were best. You see, one of them had lived in England and the other one had lived in the USA and they had both brought back electrival items with them. And apparently, certain generators work better with items from England and others work better with things from the USA.

I managed to smile at this conversation and nod my head wisely for about 5 minutes before I had to run as fast as I could to the bar.

 * Previously known as the get over man. However due to the length of time that has now past, he has lost the first part of his name. I tried to find the post that defined a get over man but couldn’t – I think I must have writen something in it about work that I later decided needed deleting!

 ** I like the term friend – in those situations, it means mind your own business about our relationship. Calling someone my girlfriend after a certain age sounds odd, my partner implies too much and my lover isn’t really appropriate for elderly relatives!

Entry filed under: On dating and relationships or lack there of.

Rainy afternoon Modernisation?

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Prim  |  October 23, 2006 at 7:41 pm

    I’ve been in a few situations like that. Meeting the good ole familial relations can be very difficult and awkward, especially when dealing with the ‘relationship labels.’ I think you handled it quite well for the situation!

    The term girlfriend does sound kinda juvenile, doesn’t it?

    Reply
  • 2. Mad Bull  |  October 24, 2006 at 6:59 pm

    What happen to “my woman”? You know, “this is my woman, KG.”. That could work, couldn’t it?

    Reply
  • 3. scratchie  |  October 24, 2006 at 10:06 pm

    Don’t know how i would have handled that one. Sounds like you did quite well without any help though.

    Reply
  • 4. Island Spice  |  October 24, 2006 at 11:15 pm

    Sounds like u did well. The hard one is when YOU introduce HIM. I was once caught off guard with my 50+ year old man.. can’t call him my ‘boyfriend’ sounds ridiculous. I just say ‘this is …’ and move on.. letting whoever figure it out.
    Please redo the post about the ‘get over man’ .. I’d love to read that!

    Reply
  • 5. Dr. D.  |  October 25, 2006 at 8:08 am

    I believe ‘friend’ is now pretty much acceptable.

    Or as Island Spice mentioned, just a name should do. Leave them to figure out the rest.

    Reply
  • 6. Leon  |  October 25, 2006 at 4:02 pm

    “Friend” is just fine. It tells people to butt out.

    Reply
  • 7. Mad Bull  |  October 26, 2006 at 6:45 am

    Actually, when you are introducing him, say, “This is my boy toy, ……”, or even, “This is my sex slave, ….”.

    Reply
  • 8. cooldestiny  |  October 27, 2006 at 8:19 am

    Introduce him as this is “Mr. X … my cocky bully”. That will surely get some heads turning, eyebrows raising and jaws dropping!

    Seriously though, friend is ok or just say this is so and so. J’ca people too damn faaaas!!

    Reply
  • 9. Kingston Girl  |  October 27, 2006 at 9:13 am

    ‘My woman’ soudns a bit too close to ‘My African Queen’ or something … not sure why, it just does!

    Get over man – will keep looking for that post!

    You all realise that next time I have to introduce him, I won’t be able to keep a straight face as I’ll be thinking about all your suggestions!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
October 2006
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,273 hits

