Rainy afternoon

October 20, 2006 at 1:40 pm 9 comments

One of the strange problems about living in a tropical country is that when it rains, people don’t really know what to do – particularly in relation to using umbrellas.

First of all, we tend not to like using umbrellas, we will stay inside or in our cars in the rain rather than get out and go anywhere. So as a result of that, people tend not to buy umbrellas, but rather to only have one they got free from somewhere. And these free ones tend to be the huge golfing style ones.

And as these aren’t used very often, people tend not to know how to use them. I first learnt to use an umbrella when I moved to England for university. I was a student with no car and it rained lots so I had to learn the etiquette involved. For example, this etiquete involve making sure no one is near you when you put it down and shake off the water.  But most importantly, it involves learning ways to not poke out other peoples’ eyes. So you shouldn’t use a huge umbrella when you are going to be in a crowded area, like a shopping plaza. And you should tip the umbrella away from the person coming towards you rather than walking on regardless.

Yesterday I had the misfortune of coming across a lady who had obvious never lived somewhere where umbrellas are an everyday part of life. We were walking on a small pavement outside some shops. I hadn’t got my umbrella with me so I was walking fast to my car. She had her hugeumbrella and made no attempt to move it slightly to the side, but rather bent it towards me, shaking off all the water and forcing me off the sidewalk into the huge puddle of oily water that had gathered in the car park.

I was not impressed. I was very tempted to get in my car, drive along beside the sidewalk where she was and splash her with lots of the water in return.

I didn’t. But I am still fantasing of getting my revenge!

Entry filed under: On life as it is only in Jamaica.

Joining everyone else! Why never to get into a relationship

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Marc  |  October 20, 2006 at 2:32 pm

    Glad you chose not to splash her. People really should pay more attentions to little things like that that make things inconvenient for others.

    Perhaps they should offer a course in primary school about how to use umbrella – teach em young 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. 'Gela's words  |  October 20, 2006 at 6:05 pm

    Yeah I do notice that peeps tend NOT to buy umbrellas. I usually like to have a couple.

    Reply
  • 3. Leon  |  October 20, 2006 at 6:08 pm

    Surprisingly intersting for a post about umbrellas. I had no idea there was such a thing as “umbrella etiquette.”

    Reply
  • 4. Mad Bull  |  October 20, 2006 at 8:50 pm

    You shoulda splash her!

    Reply
  • 5. Prim  |  October 20, 2006 at 9:24 pm

    Those massive golf umbrellas scare me! Umbrellas can be dangerous things on crowded streets. I’ve been the recipient of countless attacks and splashes by careless umbrella-holders so I know how you felt.

    Kudos for keeping your cool.

    Reply
  • 6. abeni  |  October 21, 2006 at 6:03 am

    Got caught yesterday minus umbrella. I was tempted to walk in the rain but good sense prevailed. I hate when people come into a covered area and the umbrella is still up and you have to be trying to avoid getting wet or worse

    Reply
  • 7. owen  |  October 22, 2006 at 11:38 am

    I come from a place where it rains alot and I’ve never bought an umbrella. I like the rain and take it as a excuse to get trapped somewhere.

    Reply
  • 8. cooldestiny  |  October 27, 2006 at 8:15 am

    I have 3 umbrellas: 1 in my car, 1 at my office and 1 at home. I don’t want to catch a cold so I use my umbrella. Pity we don’t get that much rain!!

    Reply
  • 9. guyana-gyal  |  October 28, 2006 at 8:38 am

    She’s rude, foreign training or not.

    Folks here use umbrella, rain or shine…you should see women in de biling, hat sun, shading from the heat with they brolly.

    Ha, remember the office worker who took your umbrella?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
October 2006
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,273 hits

