Joining everyone else!

October 18, 2006 at 10:11 am 19 comments

Well, anyone who knows me will know that I don’t like to be left out. When I was a small kid, I used to be part of a group and I was the youngest one in it. They used to call me tail sometimes as I used to follow them around all the time. 

As I never really grew up, I’m being a tail again. I’m following the move and giving WordPress a try!

So far? Well, I think blogger was easier for just a basic set up at first but it’s easier to do more fun things here. However, I need to learn if it’s possible to change the colours on this template – not really feeling all the blue and green. As you might remember, I’m really more of a pink girl myself!

Also, I think that the page tags are cute, but I can’t think of any other pages to have yet.. so any suggestions for other pages to click on would be welcome!

Entry filed under: On nothing in particular.

Sunday morning shock Rainy afternoon

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gela  |  October 18, 2006 at 2:17 pm

    Wow! I feel so honoured to be the first visitor. Can’t believe I’m the first to find out. Teehee.

    Why don’t you try a different template with more pink in it then? I know I saw ‘pinky’ templates when I was trying to decide if I should maintain the pink look.

    Great, so I’ll have company to navigate wordpress with since you’re just as new.

    Anyone else joining the exodus from Blogger?

    Reply
  • 2. Kingston Girl  |  October 18, 2006 at 2:19 pm

    Hey Gela

    Congrats on being my first visitor!

    Well, I tried out one of the pink ones – but then I couldn’t manage to get my own photo fitting nicely into the heading and I like my picture of Kingston!

    Maybe I need to harrass cool destiny…

    Reply
  • 3. Gela  |  October 18, 2006 at 2:26 pm

    OK, now I feel like the dumbest person in the blog universe. How is it that you(with your brand new wordpress self) and everyone else manage to set up categories and I have been trying to do this without any success. I followed all the instruction on the blog and named the category, clicked save. How comes my category doesn’t show up like yours 😦

    Help!

    Hmmm, why am I not seeing the option to save my info? Wonder if it’s that ‘subscribe comment’ thing I’m seeing? I need if the option is showing on my blog.

    Reply
  • 4. Kingston Girl  |  October 18, 2006 at 2:29 pm

    Categories – you go into the manage thingy and have to go through all your posts and put them into categories – apparently the cateogires only show on your site when you have something in them. So you may have already set them up but as they are empty, they don’t show yet.

    No idea about the saving of info though!

    We need to set up a support group I think!

    Reply
  • 5. scratchie  |  October 18, 2006 at 3:19 pm

    I like the new site. Kinda miss the pink though. Got use to it along the way. BTW, the template that you chose has a lot to do with the stuff that appears initially. Some of the others can be added by adding sidebar widgets.

    Reply
  • 6. Leon  |  October 18, 2006 at 8:04 pm

    4th visitor ain’t bad. Congrats on the new site.

    Reply
  • 7. cooldestiny  |  October 19, 2006 at 8:39 am

    Ok, I’m officially vex that I”m visitor #5!!

    Welcome nonetheless. I don’t mind the blue and green, but as everyone else has said, the template you choose will affect what shows up.

    Gela, you can get the categories showing on the page if you want by dragging the widgets and when you are writing a post, the option is there to put the post in the category you want.

    KG, you may need to modify the picture in terms of the size before you try to use it on the page. Try doing that.

    As I said, just play around with it. Go into all the menus. I made some minor changes to mine, like the heading picture which I didn’t know I could change till you all started doing it.

    Reply
  • 8. Marissa Bustamante  |  October 19, 2006 at 9:58 am

    As always,peoples tastes vary. My first thought, upon seeing the new sight, was man that looks so much better than the pink thing! Then I read down and you’re looking to make it pink again. LOL!

    I like the picture you chose for the masthead, it’s a great choice for a Kingston Girl.

    I preffa WordPress overall. Although I think the absence of a preview button for comments is rather heinous when they allow HTML.

    Good choice.

    Reply
  • 9. Kingston Girl  |  October 19, 2006 at 10:02 am

    Hmmm, maybe I should start a vote on the pink thing as you all seem to have mixed opinions!

    I’m thinking something pink but not as pink as before – pink is a happy colour and I feel tht tehre is not enough of it in Jamaica!

    Reply
  • 10. guyana-gyal  |  October 19, 2006 at 10:33 am

    Oooh, something new, fresh, updated. Nice! Yes, I miss the pink, somehow it goes with your ‘adventures’.

    Gawsh, I feel so laaazyyy and olllld with my dots. But then, my blog is just a place to keep my stories…

    Reply
  • 11. mad bull  |  October 19, 2006 at 9:06 pm

    I like the new look, prefer it to the pink. Go with what you like though.

    Reply
  • 12. Yamfoot  |  October 19, 2006 at 11:35 pm

    Lawks, one nedda blog link mi haffi go change.
    Steups (that is Grenadian for kiss teeth)!

    anyway this has cleaner lines.

    I lilke thte pink. It defines your blog/ thid makes it look like any other run of the mill blog.

    sorry,. finger nails making me mis type and mi cyan bodda correct de wrong spelling dem.

    Reply
  • 13. Gela Words  |  October 20, 2006 at 7:50 am

    lol@yamfoot. Haven’t you gotten used to the false nails dem yet? hehe.

    Reply
  • 14. Dr. D.  |  October 20, 2006 at 8:39 am

    Well, I not moving anywhere. Mortgage pay off where I am long time! 😉

    Reply
  • 15. cooldestiny  |  October 20, 2006 at 8:58 am

    KG, I saw a few pink templates that you could use. Look again. I’m ok with this set up though.

    Reply
  • 16. Prim  |  October 20, 2006 at 10:08 am

    As a lurker I think your new site looks fabulous! (even though I’m a pink girl myself.)

    Reply
  • 17. Kingston Girl  |  October 20, 2006 at 10:19 am

    Sorry yamfoot… and I have to say that if you were using wordpress, ‘t would be nice and easy to update your links!!!

    I think i’ll stick with this a while and see if I get used to it. Alternatively, the design will just change whenever I next get bored!

    Reply
  • 18. Island Spice  |  October 24, 2006 at 11:06 pm

    Hiya. Like the new site… and I am late as usual :S
    Anyway I do so love your kingston photo in your header.. no matter what colour u choose to go with please keep it!

    I set up a wordpress blog weeks ago but i am unable to import all my old posts and comments like u guys. I am on blogger beta and it wont interface with wordpress. So I am sticking with blogger for now. I dont mind the beta version.

    Reply
  • 19. Irie Diva  |  September 19, 2007 at 5:10 pm

    lawx all this stuff mek me wish mi did get fi see the ol blog

    struups

    🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
October 2006
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,222 hits

