Sunday morning shock

October 17, 2006 at 11:33 am 6 comments

I was on my way home from church on Sunday morning and stopped off to buy newspapers from a man at the side of the road. He was normal newspaper selling man, just on a corner, in a residential area, near a supermarket.

I was counting out my change, trying to get rid of as much silver as possible, when a lady came up to the car selling something. I wasn’t really paying her attention, being too busy with the silver (earlish Sunday morning, holiday weekend, brain wasn’t working too quick) and just kinda replied with a huh?

When I glanced up, I saw something bright red being shoved into the car. As I already mentioned, it was still earlish and my brain wasn’t working too well so I had to do a double take. It was bright red, velvety, part of it was cup-like and there wasn’t much of it. Just as I was processing this information, the woman yelled at me

‘Is a man thang’

And indeed it was. Bright and early on a Sunday morning, she was trying to sell me a man thong with my Sunday newspaper.

I laughed too much to even find out how much it was before I drove off, leaving it behind.

(I’ve tried to find a photo online to match this post but haven’t had any luck. Instead, I am debating stealing one from Cali-J … )

Entry filed under: On life as it is only in Jamaica.

Asking for advice… Joining everyone else!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gela  |  October 18, 2006 at 2:20 pm

    haha, this is so funny.

    Reply
  • 2. Melody Piggy  |  October 18, 2006 at 4:34 pm

    When ah read that initially, ah thought she meant, “It’s a man’s thing!” (Yankee accents: “thang” = “thing”) Strange Bobbit images came 2 mind, then whew, she meant “thong.”

    Reply
  • 3. cooldestiny  |  October 19, 2006 at 8:35 am

    Everybody trying to hustle selling anything they can get their hands on. I guess you looked like the type of girl who would be with a man who wears a thong! Funny though, real funny.

    Reply
  • 4. guyana-gyal  |  October 19, 2006 at 10:28 am

    Hmmm…

    Bright red.

    Velvety.

    It’s Christmas!!!

    Reply
  • 5. mad bull  |  October 19, 2006 at 9:09 pm

    You should have bought it and posted a pic of get-over man for the ladies to ogle….

    Reply
  • 6. Dr. D.  |  October 20, 2006 at 8:37 am

    Seems you can buy almost anything pon roadside nowadays!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
October 2006
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,273 hits

