Asking for advice…

October 14, 2006 at 8:27 pm 12 comments

I have a question for the men out there. When you see a woman driving down the road and you yell something along the lines of ‘hey brownin, me like yuh, yuh know’, what do you expect to happen?

Should I stop the car at the next available point, get out and come and talk to you? Or should I yell my number out as I drive by? Should I just ignore you? Or should I copy one of my friends who has taken to yelling something along the lines of ‘me like yuh too – let me when you buy the diamond and I’ll come check yuh’ back at them?

Just wondering. Because you see, I was always taught it is rude to ignore someone who is talking to me. But at the same time, I really don’t want to accidentally get into a relationship with a man who I met while he was sat at the side of the raod at 8:00 in the morning with his morning red stripe and spliff.

Ladies – have you got any alternative responses?!

Entry filed under: On dating and relationships or lack there of, On life as it is only in Jamaica.

Twice in one day! Sunday morning shock

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gela's Words  |  October 14, 2006 at 11:13 pm

    Oh the men here can be a trip sometimes. I don’t mind them yelling that, it’s when they yell some outrageously rude things that I’m pissed off.

    To be honest, I’ve kinda responded like your girlfriend too, you know, yelling back.

    Uhm, sometimes if I’m in a mischievious mood I might initiate the ‘conversation’. Although usually it’s with other drivers – cute ones. I’ll do things like blowing them kisses, wink at them, shout out how cute they are, etc. But it has to be a situation where there’s no traffic backup. Hehe.

    Reply
  • 2. Marissa Bustamante  |  October 15, 2006 at 11:20 am

    I’d ignore the passers by but, if I were stopped next to one, I’d say; ‘Well of course you do but, there’s no need to make a spectacle of yourself!’

    More seriously, this is a mild form of the type of behavior that I was referring to in my comment to your Uptown Girl post.

    Reply
  • 3. Anonymous  |  October 15, 2006 at 5:26 pm

    run them over

    Reply
  • 4. Mad Bull  |  October 15, 2006 at 8:04 pm

    I would say “Go suck out you #@%$&!”. Or maybe “Guweh, syphilis buddy!”. Of course, you have to have a fast car! 😉

    Reply
  • 5. Gooders Girl  |  October 15, 2006 at 9:29 pm

    LOL @ Mad Bull,

    Me, I just smile sweetly and keep it moving. Hard and fast!

    Reply
  • 6. cooldestiny aka cd  |  October 16, 2006 at 3:50 pm

    Bwoy Mad Bull yu funny nuh Ra$$. It depends on the mood I’m in. If I feel mischievous, I’ll answer with my very witty personality. If I’m pissed off, then he’ll get the #($#&@(#&%.

    Reply
  • 7. Stunner  |  October 16, 2006 at 7:58 pm

    LOL! I have never done that before, so I can’t answer….no really, I haven’t!

    LOL! MB comment might get you two ston in yuh car!

    Reply
  • 8. Guyana-Gyal  |  October 16, 2006 at 8:51 pm

    Which reminds me, I always got called Eendian. argggh. Once, I fumed at a man, saying, ‘Don’t call me that.’

    He then asked, “Wat ah muss call you then?”

    I either ignored the ones who said ‘psst, me like you,’ or I’d say, ‘Tell that to my husband…he’s one baaaaaaad man.’ [They don’t have to know I don’t have a hubby].

    Or I’d ask, ‘Would you mind my 10 pickney?’

    Reply
  • 9. Mad Bull  |  October 16, 2006 at 9:06 pm

    Actually, I know someone who used the syphilis buddy one… she was walking in the plazas one day when a security guard called out to her, “psst! Hey, sexy breasts! Whappen?”, to which she replied “Nutten, syphilis buddy!”. heh heh heh…

    Reply
  • 10. Kingston Girl  |  October 17, 2006 at 8:25 am

    Hmm, I don’t think my car is fast enough to get away with those responses! Also, it’s not too common so it might be recognised again at a later date…

    Reply
  • 11. Leon  |  October 17, 2006 at 1:56 pm

    I don’t know a car fast enough to evade a rockstone. Just smile and drive.

    Reply
  • 12. Dr. D.  |  October 20, 2006 at 8:36 am

    Ignore dem types KG.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
October 2006
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,273 hits

