Not Christmas yet!!!

October 5, 2006 at 8:58 am 8 comments

My computer is behaving rather strangely at the moment. Well, actually I lie. It’s not my computer that’s behaving odd, it’s other peoples. My office computer is just behaving dead. Apparently it is being fixed today … I am waiting anxiously. So in the meanwhile, I am forced to wander around the office, grabbing anyone else’s when they step outside for more than 2 minutes. And the one that I was on this morning was being rather odd.

I tend to be in early in the mornings as I like to make myself a hot drink and read the newspapers online before everyone else arrives and the day starts. I did that this morning and was dismayed to see every single blog and newspaper site that I looked at was talking about Christmas! I got upset – it is way too early to think about Christmas. After all, we haven’t even had my birthday yet (which is October 6 i.e. tomorrow!!!).

After huffing and puffing and trying more sites, it finally dawned on me. I’d seen all of these stories before. In fact, they were all old news. And when I finally let the coffee sink in and rubbed my eyes, I realized why. All of the pages were dated 23 December 2005.

I am now slightly concerned by how long it took me to work that one out.

Entry filed under: On nothing in particular.

Stories from the past It’s my birthday…

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dc gal  |  October 5, 2006 at 11:25 am

    Happy Birthday!

    Reply
  • 2. CoolDestiny aka CD  |  October 5, 2006 at 11:43 am

    Happy Birthday when it comes. Christmas has become such a drag that they have to start making a big hoopla about it as early as summer. Hell, Fame FM started playing Christmas carols in July!!!

    Reply
  • 3. Gela's Words  |  October 5, 2006 at 2:56 pm

    Haha. So tomorrow’s your birthday huh? I wonder if I should wish you happy birthday from now. You’re not going to work are you? I absolutlely don’t do work on birthdays. Well have a wonderful day when it comes.

    And make sure you post about it!

    Reply
  • 4. Kingston Girl  |  October 5, 2006 at 3:03 pm

    Thanks for the early wishes!

    No such luck gela – will be working tomorrow… I figure that I finish early on a Friday and that if I took the day off, I’d just be hanging on my own so might as well work and save the day off to recover from a girls weekend at the beach we have planned for next month!

    Reply
  • 5. Dr. D.  |  October 6, 2006 at 7:50 am

    Happy Birthday and TGIF.

    I hear nuff o de merchants have out Xmas lights and decorations from last month….cho, since when did we become like this?

    Reply
  • 6. Melody  |  October 6, 2006 at 10:35 am

    Enjoy this special day, KG. Have whole heap o’ fun!!

    Reply
  • 7. Luxury travel blog  |  October 6, 2006 at 1:13 pm

    Happy birthday dear lady.
    I just love Jamaica;-)

    Reply
  • 8. Guyana-Gyal  |  October 9, 2006 at 12:19 pm

    Haha.

    Haaa.

    Merry Christmas 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
October 2006
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,222 hits

