Why come back?

September 22, 2006 at 3:51 pm 9 comments

Every now and then, one of the little things happens that make me glad I came home. I had one of those moments in the gym last night.I was in the process of dying, that bit when I have just finished my cardio stuff before heading to do weights, and went into the changing room to put down my MP3 player. And I saw a little girl in there who must have been about 6 or 7. I’d seen her around before – she seems to wander around with a book or watching tv while her mum exercises. Yesterday, she was talking on a phone, a pink razor phone. So I stopped to admire it and told her it was very pretty and that she must have important phone calls to make. She smiled shyly back at me, and I started to walk off. At that point, she came up to me (remember I am very sweaty at this point) and gave me a huge hug and then ran off.Why does that make me glad to be back in Jamaica? Well, children in foreign don’t do that. They’ve all been taught that strangers are nasty and dangerous and if you even smile at a child in a shop, their parents will run and grab them and give you a dirty look.* I want to have children somewhere where they can talk to strangers, where adults they vaguely know will pick them up if they start to cry and where they can be hugged by a teacher when they do their work well without the teacher fearing a lawsuit.*And yes, I know that parents are cautious for a reason, there are paedophiles out there and I am not denying that. However, statistically children are a lot more likely to be abused by someone they know well…

Entry filed under: On (not) being a gym bunny, On life as it is only in Jamaica.

Fareign Uptown Girl

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Melody  |  September 22, 2006 at 5:27 pm

    Many adults just ignore kids or R otherwise dismissive of them, so imagine how it must’ve made her day when U not only acknowledged her but complimented her as well. That’s pure, exquisite symbiosis right there.

    Reply
  • 2. dedicris  |  September 23, 2006 at 11:44 am

    Same in Italy. Do not touch daddy’s car. Do no smile to mom’s son and daughter. Kids cannot play down the street anymore, street are for cars. Media are waiting for you to watch a baby’s pic to call you a monster. Italy is gettimg a boring place where to live. Strudel

    Reply
  • 3. Buffy  |  September 23, 2006 at 6:31 pm

    “I was in the process of dying…”

    I laughed so hard at this. I know the feeling well.

    But isn’t it wonderful once you realise you’re going to live, afterall. 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Dr. D.  |  September 23, 2006 at 8:13 pm

    Its the natural innocence of children and little episodes like this that make children such beautiful beings KG. Pity they have to become adults and acquire all the hang ups that make us grown ups….basically quoting what one of my lecturers in paediatrics told us when I was a med. student.

    Unfortunately, the way the world is nowadays with so many deviants out there, we do have to teach chilren how to be street savy.

    Reply
  • 5. Gela's Words  |  September 24, 2006 at 9:17 pm

    My mother was a teacher here in Ja before she migrated then changed her profession to nursing when she migrated to the States. She couldn’t teach in the States she said and I agreed with her. That would have been a sexual harassment charge waiting to happen. My mother is the warm, affectionate type, who’s always hugging her primary school children and they love her back because of that. Now, I’m not sure if that would have been seen as warm and affectionate there.

    Reply
  • 6. Leon  |  September 25, 2006 at 7:42 pm

    True thing about the paedos. Wish I had the discipline to go to the gym.

    Reply
  • 7. Guyana-Gyal  |  September 26, 2006 at 1:13 pm

    Here, children still play in the not so busy streets. Yay. I love it when they take control of the road with their zinc sheet wicket, old bat and ball.

    But even here children have to be so careful now too.

    Sometimes I think how I’d love to work with some organisation that catches those child molesters.

    Reply
  • 8. juliana  |  September 26, 2006 at 1:41 pm

    I get the same impression here in Mali. Kids are free to talk to whom they want and wander arond without fear of being abducted or abused. It shocked me at first but I wish American children could have the kind of carefree childhood I see here.

    Reply
  • 9. Antoinette  |  January 11, 2010 at 6:30 pm

    I’ve been wanting to join a gym……kno any good ones? That would persuade me to loose weight and get back to my skinny self? I can’t believe I got this fat! Just one year did this to me, after I stopped playing sports and dancing.

    I don’t even eat as much anymore………..and I stopped eating my fun foods……I need a gym!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
September 2006
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 55,219 hits

