From the mouths of children

August 18, 2006 at 11:35 am 10 comments

I walked into work this morning and saw a little girl standing there. Her mum had obviously come to the office for something and left her standing there by the door. She looked about 3 or 4.

The reason she was standing there was pretty obvious – she was talking on her cell phone. Well, by cell phone I mean one of those you get with sweets inside it, not a real one. But the fact that it wasn’t real didn’t hinder her in any way. She was standing outside to get better reception apparently.

I could hear some of her side of the conversation which went something like this…

‘Where yuh deh?’
‘Oh, me deh a town’
‘No, me caan afford dat, me no get di money yet.’
”Im say it soon come, but me no inna dat’
‘So me say’
‘Me credit soon done so later’

She has clearly been listening lots and knows what you say on the cell phone well!

Entry filed under: On life as it is only in Jamaica.

Starting to get bored Feeling off colour

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Scratchie  |  August 18, 2006 at 10:33 pm

    lol, well trained for adult life already.

    Reply
  • 2. Mad Bull  |  August 19, 2006 at 9:01 am

    This is FUNNEE! Especially the part about the credit soon done! LOL!

    Reply
  • 3. Melody  |  August 19, 2006 at 9:36 am

    ‘Unheard’ side of conversation:
    “Mi deh a country, wheh U deh?”
    “Town? Stop a arcade an’ pick up piece a ‘RackaWare’ fi mi wid a smalls outta yu Western Unian money noh?”
    “Ow yu mean yu noh get it yet?”
    “Yu foreign man a loaf it out; him noh know yu have yu yout’ fi buy candy cell-phone fa?”
    “Oh, yu know wha’ mi did aggoh awx yu; mi a look some credit from–“

    Reply
  • 4. Caribbean Colors  |  August 19, 2006 at 10:14 am

    Too funny and TRU!

    Reply
  • 5. CoolDestiny  |  August 19, 2006 at 12:17 pm

    Melody, yu good.

    Reply
  • 6. Jill  |  August 19, 2006 at 2:58 pm

    That was funny. For some reason it is easier for me to understand Jamaican speech when it is written down. There was a Jamaican film festival on down here and I was reading the Spanish subtitles the entire time. Maybe I just need practice..

    Reply
  • 7. Stunner  |  August 20, 2006 at 7:15 pm

    LOL! Children live what they learn, the saying gous.

    Reply
  • 8. Gela's Words  |  August 20, 2006 at 10:35 pm

    Teehee, Hey Melody, I placed the comment box with the ‘unheard side of conversation’ beside the ‘heard side of conversation’ and almost fell off my chair laughing while I read them together. That’s funny.

    Reply
  • 9. Dr. D.  |  August 21, 2006 at 8:09 am

    Indeed, it was funny. At the same time, some of our youths really do not get to enjoy childhood…they are introduced to the harsh realities of adulthood from too tender an age.

    Reply
  • 10. Guyana-Gyal  |  August 23, 2006 at 9:19 am

    ‘No, me caan afford dat, me no get di money yet.’
    ‘Im say it soon come, but me no inna dat’

    That part of the conversation was sad, real sad. What is her mum teaching her?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
August 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,273 hits

