More dreaming!

August 3, 2006 at 11:48 am 9 comments

I hope this works – I’m stealing ideas from cream today!

create your own visited country map

Seeing this makes my feet itchy. It reminds me that there is so much of the world left for me to visit! Until then, some notes on my limited travels…

I think that my favourite city would have to be Barcelona. It is just so alive and so colourful, and the food is great!

I’ll admit that I have kinda cheated with one bit of colouring – Kenya. I haven’t been outside of the airport. But I did spend an enjoyable 6 hours or so there in the departure lounge which was also in use by their national rugby team… mmmmm. Need to go back properly. I was tempted but didn’t cheat by putting in Zimbabwe as I never actually got out of the plane there!

I think that the place I found ‘most foreign’ to me was the Ukraine. Coming from the Caribbean where we place so much emphasis on education as the way out of poverty, I found it hard to comprehend that there were people sitting around who were unemployed despite having PhDs in Physics and other similar areas.

I tried to come up with a best memory but I couldn’t narrow it down! Options included riding a camal in the Sahara, watching the sun rise after trecking for hours up a mountain in Malawi, dancing salsa in Prague, drinking too many cocktails in New York, just sitting and watching the world go by in Amsterdam and too many more.

And when I think of those memories, I realise that I am making the right decisions again – other people mnay have expensive cars and lots of clothes, but I’d rather have those memories and be able to look forward to making more!

So next on the list is Cuba…

So, where do you love?

Entry filed under: On going to foreign.

Memories Weekend Break

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mad Bull  |  August 4, 2006 at 3:35 am

    Ohhh, you are one of those well travelled people are you? Wicked!

    Me, I have been all over the U.S. and I have been to Mexico and Cayman and thats about it. Its harder to do when you fly in threes so who knows how many other places I will see…

    My life never took that route, and I am a bit envious of you, but ah so it go still. I wouldn’t really change too much of the route my life HAS taken, though…

    Lets see, of all the places I have been to, I liked ATL, Los Angeles, Phoenix and New York best. Mexico City was pretty nice too, but I was a bit young when I went. I will have to go again.

    Reply
  • 2. Scratchie  |  August 4, 2006 at 4:55 pm

    Not much traveling for me…chicago, NY, Miami, Bahamas and living in Jamaica.

    Reply
  • 3. Guyana-Gyal  |  August 5, 2006 at 6:07 pm

    You’ve been to ALL those places? 😮 Can you see my jaw drop with envy? sigh.

    I’ve been to the US, Jamaica, Trinidad, Barbados, England, Canada and Australia. That’s it.

    Reply
  • 4. Bashmentbasses  |  August 5, 2006 at 6:43 pm

    Australia!!! Damn! Now my jaw is agape. Florida, NJ, NY, England, …. that’s it for me. I end up living vicariously. It’s so sad that my travels are now through Google Earth! I’m going to go to Antartica now. Toodles!

    Reply
  • 5. Tish  |  August 5, 2006 at 11:18 pm

    My favourite has to be Japan. Lived in Miami and New York. Been to different states in the US. Venezuela, Curacao, St. Vincent. I live in Trinidad. Planning to go to Brazil and Chile, want to return to Japan for a while, I also want to visit Taiwan, Germany, Spain, Thailand, New Zealand, and other Caribbean islands.

    Reply
  • 6. FreeCyprus  |  August 6, 2006 at 12:59 am

    Cool site.
    Keep on bloggin in the free world.

    — FreeCyprus
    Hellenic Reporter

    Reply
  • 7. Dr. D.  |  August 8, 2006 at 8:03 pm

    Been to most Caribbean islands….Barbados, St. Vincent, Grenada, Tobago, St. Kitts, Cayman, USA, England and Scotland, El Salvador, Panama, Costa Rica. Yet to hit Canada, Australia, Europe or Africa. I hope to go to Argentina next year.

    Edinburgh is lovely in summer.

    Reply
  • 8. Stunner  |  August 8, 2006 at 10:18 pm

    I haven’t been to many places, I feel like I haven’t even travelled when I read this post and the comments I have been just to : Cayman, New York, Maryland, New Jersey and Washington DC.

    Reply
  • 9. Kingston Girl  |  August 10, 2006 at 1:33 pm

    wow, some well travelled people out there! i guess my main thing with travwelling is that i want to spend enough time somewhere to get a feel for it, rather than doing just loads of places really quickly

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
August 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,222 hits

