Memories

August 2, 2006 at 2:50 pm 3 comments

I can’t quite put my finger on why exactly it happened this morning, but as I drove out of my gate I was suddenly reminded of Greece. Maybe it was the bright bright blue sky, the incredibly vivid green of the bushes, the red of the poinciana standing out as I came down the hill. Or maybe it was a song on the radio that brought it all back, or a reminient of a dream that I had had. Maybe it was the smell in the air, that hot yet clean smell you get after rain.

Whatever the reason, I was suddenly struck with memories. Memories of my one and only trip to Greece, a week in Kefalonia about 5 years ago. I could almost taste the fresh salads you got with your meals – if you were able to convince the restaurant that although you had a british accent, you didn’t need chips with every meal. I could feel the hot sea and the sand between my toes. I could smell the lethal ouzo – smelling it was enough for me. I remembered the twin beds in our room, and falling through the gap that always developed in the night after we’d pushed the beds together.

I hadn’t thought of that holiday for ages. It was packaged away at the back of my mind – like much of the rest of the two years I spent with that boyfriend. Yet this morning, it decided to come out. And despite having moved on from him a long time ago, it made me smile.

Entry filed under: On going to foreign.

I’m Very Sorry.. More dreaming!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dr. D.  |  August 2, 2006 at 5:31 pm

    Nice, very nice and the picture is beautiful too.

    Greece eeh? Can’t say I have been anywhere quite as exotic….then again, maybe Edinburgh in the summer was quite nice.

    Lovely how pleasant momories can uplift one’s mood eh KG?

    Reply
  • 2. cream  |  August 3, 2006 at 12:00 pm

    Hiya, KG! Strange but Cherrypie was talking about the same thing! Kefalonia and I put a link to a poem by Louis de Bernieres’ Captain Corelli’s Mandolin in her comments!
    I liked Argostoli! Very nice beaches, food and wine!

    Reply
  • 3. Mad Bull  |  August 4, 2006 at 3:37 am

    I second Doctor D’s motion, except the Edinburgh part.–>

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
August 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,273 hits

