The perils of the internet

July 25, 2006 at 4:35 pm 5 comments

I am currently in a limbo – the man I am trying to buy the apartment from is currently off the island. I think everything is OK, but I would love to have things signed so that I know that it is really mine. In the meanwhile, I am trying not to get too excited – don’t want to build my hopes incase everythign falls apart.

But I keep getting carried away and finding myself looking at furniture and household shops online. Being realistic, I am aware that most of the furniture for this apartment will either be tiefed from my parents’ house and begged from anyone, with only a few essentials (fridge, stove, sofa, tv) being bought.

However, I am heading to England next summer for a wedding. And I am already trying to work out how much I can fit into my suitcases on the way back! I am already becoming like my friends who have houses and abandonning ideas of filling my suitcase with pretty new clothes for new dreams of colourful shower curtains, chunky cutlery, soft towels, interesting key hangers and huge pasta bowls. And I am able to research those dreams, do my window shopping over the internet so that when I get there, I know exactly where to head.

This will be the first place that is all mine – not rented and not shared with anyone else. It will be mine to make mistakes with the choice of paint colours, mine to hang my photos and paintings all over, mine to plant the garden as I want, and, of course, mine to get a kitten and train it as I want!

So in the meanwhile, while waiting for the selling man to return, I am trying to distract myself. This evening’s distraction will be ‘The devil wears Prada’ – Tuesday nights is 2 for 1 at the cinema so an evening of girly laughter is ahead of me.

Entry filed under: On going to foreign, On trying to become a propertied young lady.

Trying to become a home owner I’m Very Sorry..

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gela's Words  |  July 25, 2006 at 7:58 pm

    You go girl, what area is it?

    Reply
  • 2. Dr. D.  |  July 26, 2006 at 5:18 pm

    You sound like you glad bag buss!

    Good for you.

    Reply
  • 3. Dr. D.  |  July 27, 2006 at 8:22 am

    You missed the blog link! No apology is acceptable!

    Reply
  • 4. Mad Bull  |  July 27, 2006 at 9:49 am

    I want to see that show too!

    Reply
  • 5. Kingston Girl  |  July 27, 2006 at 9:50 am

    It was funny – nothing serious but lots of pretty clothes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
July 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,222 hits

