Trying to become a home owner

July 21, 2006 at 1:56 pm 11 comments

As I’ve mentioned before, I am currently trying to buy a house. Well, to be accurate, an apartment. A little apartment. But somewhere that is mine. I have taken the decision that unlike many other girls my age, I am not going to sit around waiting on Prince Charming to come along to move me into his gorgeous house. I am going to try and make a start on my own!

I am one of those people who when I make a decision, I tend to go for it. And I’ve been like that about this apartment thingy. After contemplating and saving for ages, I decided about 2 weeks that it was time to act. And since then, I’ve looked at 6 places. I made an offer for one, but so did about 4 other people… and the person selling liked the young couple more than me. So now I have made an offer for another place and the man selling seems to like my offer. I’ll give you more detail of the place should everything go through – I don’t want to tempt fate!!

So now I am learning about the mortgage process in Jamaica. Mortgage rates here are mad – commercial rates are between 14 – 18% per annum, hellish. But you can borrow some money from the National Housing Trust (NHT) , a government agency that loans at much cheaper rates.

So I am going the NHT route and had my first visit to them this morning. I called and spoke to them and found out what initial documents I would need to get an initial letter saying I look like a nice person who, once they’ve checked me out more, they’d lend money to. The guy who I am buying the house from wants this letter so he knows I’m serious. Fine.

This morning, I went to their offices with the documents that they told me they needed. I went to one window, got redirected, went to the other and then ended up in the right place. And I sat and waited patiently. I expected the wait – I had taken a few sudoku puzzles with me to keep me occupied! And it wasn’t too bad – only half an hour until a young man called me up.

The first thing he needed to know was whether I was married – huh? When I informed him I wasn’t he said ‘Oh, yes, that’s good for me.’ Urrgh.

Then he slowly went through my papers and then he sent me away. Apparently the people who answer the phones had forgotten to tell me to bring a letter from my employer – they had told me to bring my employment contract but that wasn’t good enough for him. I wasn’t impressed – why the people can’t talk sense on the phone? Why they make me waste my time?

So now I have to go to my employer, wait about a week to get a letter from them, and then go back and join the queue again to even start the process. Grrrr

I just keep telling myself that it will be worth it one day when I am finally sat in my place!!!

Entry filed under: On trying to become a propertied young lady.

Ouch The perils of the internet

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mad Bull  |  July 22, 2006 at 9:57 am

    It’ll take you a week to get a letter from your workplace? Batty! Only in government, bwoy!

    Reply
  • 2. Dr. D.  |  July 22, 2006 at 11:36 am

    Good luck with it. Indeed, nutten like your own.

    I am one who hates having to put together the heap o documentation in order tp prove oneself. But I guess with the maount of ‘ginnal’ out deh, these agencies that lend money can’t do better.

    A week does sound long for a letter from your place of work though….

    Reply
  • 3. Gela's Words  |  July 22, 2006 at 11:46 am

    Girl, I’m in the process of buying somewhere myself, made the deposit already, now getting documents together for the mortgage. It’s a most frightening feeling because I’ve scraped up every last cent so now I’m feeling kinda vulnerable and too dependent on my job now – with the mortgage that I hear I’m about to pay, I definitely cannot affort not to have a job. My mind tells me that it’s the sensible thing to do but so far I’m too stressed and broke to feel excited. Maybe after I’ve moved in, the excitement will kick in. However, good luck with your new apartment.

    Reply
  • 4. Gela's Words  |  July 22, 2006 at 11:49 am

    Yeah, honestly that’s the thing about these govt places, everything takes so darn long. In my situation, I’d probably type the darn letter myself, print it on a letter head and get the relevant person to sign.

    Reply
  • 5. Sashakay  |  July 22, 2006 at 12:12 pm

    Hey, its great to see more jamaicans blogging. I read earlier about your friend being fired, sorry about that. I guess free speech comes with consequences. Anyways, link me okay.

    Reply
  • 6. Kingston Girl  |  July 22, 2006 at 5:12 pm

    The reason it will take so long is that it is month end – basically all of the accounts department is busy with payroll etc so they have to do that and then they will be able to write me a letter! I thought of writing it myself but they need all the details about what contributions have been made etc..

    Reply
  • 7. CoolDestiny  |  July 23, 2006 at 10:59 am

    Yes, it can be quite a process but the satisfaction you’ll get at the end will be worth all the trouble, broke days you’ll go through 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. Yamfoot  |  July 23, 2006 at 5:45 pm

    you gotta come work with us! You would have had that employment letter the same day!

    anyway, I decided I aint buying no house, cause that means I would have to have a job all the time! In 2005 I worked for a total of maybe 4 months, and loved it! (I sound lazy, but I’m not….just like to enjoy life)

    Good luck with the purchase.

    Reply
  • 9. Mad Bull  |  July 25, 2006 at 9:01 am

    BTW, KG, can you make the blogger linkup earlier than 9:00 PM? Say 7:00 or 8:00PM. See the details on the same post on my blog… Right click and select “Open in a new browser window” here.

    Reply
  • 10. giovanni.dicristofano@tin.it  |  July 31, 2006 at 2:14 pm

    Can you tell more about that National Housing Trust ?

    For sure your new apt. will need a plummer and an electrician . I will be glad to fix your things for food and bed (just half of it) .
    strudel

    Reply
  • 11. zivecnu dtzucaf  |  September 13, 2008 at 9:26 am

    jnqwk rylo jpmbiquzt cyziu jekqzc zgypjwqxb ucvsat

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
July 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,222 hits

