Growing Up

July 10, 2006 at 9:35 am 3 comments

This weekend has made me feel that I am very much an adult now. Usually, I identify myself as being a young person, someone who still hasn’t got any major ties – no house, no kids, no marriage, no debts. Although I have a job, I could still get up tomorrow and decide to go and work in Africa for a year and there is nothing to stop me.

However, this weekend it hit me – I am growing up. On Friday night, I didn’t go out for drinks or food or to ‘look man.’ Instead, I went to the hospital with my best friend to visit our gorgeous brand spanking new god son. He was born on Friday morning and is adorable so far. So we spent the evening there, admiring him and congratulating his mum, a good friend of ours. He’s my first god-child so I am feeling very proud of him!

Then on Saturday, I spent the afternoon at another friend’s house – helping out at a 9 year old’s birthday party. Organising loot bags, wrapping children in towels as they emerged from the pool, telling them not to try and jump straight from the bouncy castle to the pool (there was a big patch of concrete in the middle!) and serving drinks. I could deal with the fact that my friends’ have babies – but having ‘children’ puts them in a whole new category!

And on Sunday evening, I went to view an apartment. I’m not really planning on buying just yet – am aiming to purchase at the end of next year. But this looked a good deal so went to look at it and spent the time discussing with the current owner things like where a washing machine would go, whether gas is available for cooking, what parking in like and whether animals are allowed! It was tempting, but need to take my dad with me to inspect it before I do anything else.

And in between all of that, I had to watch wimbledon and the world cup. So it’s probably a good thing that the weekend is over – come back to work and get some rest!

Entry filed under: On nothing in particular, On trying to become a propertied young lady.

Busy Thursday The things you learn in Jamaica

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gela's Words  |  July 10, 2006 at 5:37 pm

    Oh I know that feeling. Pretty much did the same thing this weekend. Best friend and I took out friends’ children and wondered if we still want to have some. I’m in the middle of buying an apt. and that also is one of the most grown up and stressful thing one could do.

    Reply
  • 2. Guyana-Gyal  |  July 11, 2006 at 6:27 am

    You’re weaving ties that bind, and they’re lovely, aren’t they?

    I’ve done many ‘grown up’ things but I still don’t feel grown up. yikes.

    Reply
  • 3. Mad Bull  |  July 17, 2006 at 6:34 am

    Well, I am definitely grown up, if those are the criteria.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
July 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,219 hits

