Need a roadblock

June 27, 2006 at 11:09 am 5 comments

I haven’t had water at home for about 10 days. Yup, 10 days. Fortunately, we have a water tank, but that’s not large enough to store enough water to run a house of 3 people for 10 days. So we have been practicing the art of filling toilets from a bucket, bathing with an ice cream container and carrying the washing to other people’s houses.

We are used to not having water, we usually have it twice a week for about 4 hours each time. However, this is now getting ridiculous. And what makes it ridiculous is that:

1. The community to the south of us has water (lots of big pretty houses there).
2. The community to the east of us has water (lots of big pretty houses there).
3. The community to the north-east of us has water (lots of big pretty houses there).
4. The community to the west of us has water (lots of big pretty houses there).

Our community, however, has mainly poor people living there. We have a school but apparently that makes no difference.

So we suffer on, listening to excuses from the water commission that change on a daily basis and promises that never come true.

In the meanwhile however, it is a good encourager to go to the gym more often where there is abundant hot water!

Entry filed under: On (not) being a gym bunny, On politicing and current events.

Attempts at shopping Dilemna

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anonymous  |  June 27, 2006 at 12:31 pm

    Kingston Girl,

    I feel your pain. I lived in JA until I moved to NY in ’94 and even back then we had the same water woes. I lived in Barbican and had to bathe from buckets and do the toilet roulette…and we didn’t have a water tank! When water finally came through pipes during the alloted time it was a celebration! It was like water was a gift from the heavens, a luxury! I find it incredible that after more than a decade the situation remains unchanged.

    You’re right. This calls for a road block. Pass me dat tire ova deh so! 🙂

    Dennis
    http://hammondville.typepad.com

    Reply
  • 2. Dr. D.  |  June 28, 2006 at 8:10 am

    Hmm…sorry to hear about your dry spell….in the summer heat water is a must!

    Reply
  • 3. Stunner  |  June 29, 2006 at 3:12 am

    I know how rough it is not to have running water. At my parents home, in Portland, they have water lock-offs every day! Yes Portland of all the places in the country! The NWC is rediculous! Hope you get water soon.

    On the bright side, you get in shape!

    Reply
  • 4. Beaver  |  June 30, 2006 at 1:18 am

    I hear you girl ! While I was on HOME leave in MONTREAL, CANADA, we had a major plumbing problem that lasted the whole 3 weeks of my stay.

    By the end, I was telling my boyfriend that his appartment was a 3rd world country and that I was looking forward to going to Pakistan so that I could take a shower !

    It’s disgusting that poorer areas get less public service than others. Road block it is !

    Reply
  • 5. Guyana-Gyal  |  July 5, 2006 at 5:52 am

    A friend of mine there used to work for the water commission…she told me some reeeeeally sordid tales about the corrupt water commission staff. I told her she should’ve exposed them when she resigned.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
June 2006
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 55,273 hits

