Attempts at shopping

June 26, 2006 at 3:19 pm 7 comments

I got brave today – I played with the code-thingy for this page design (thanks Beaver for the advice) and managed to get a picture of Kingston’s skyline for the top of my page! I am now feeling proud of myself.

On completely unrelated news, I went shopping on Saturday and discovered that I am old. I tried on 3 what I thought were tops only to be informed by the sales assistant that they were infact dresses. Hmmm, I guess I have grown out of that stage of life where showing my derriere to the world is a good thing.

When I was trying these on, I noticed the sign on the wall in the changing room…


Huh? I always thought that the point of a shop was that they WANTED you to buy things. I didn’t realise that they were doing me a favour by taking my money off me and that I had to behave well to be allowed to make a purchase! Oh well!

Entry filed under: On life as it is only in Jamaica.

Friday musings Need a roadblock

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dr. D.  |  June 27, 2006 at 7:21 am

    Management of that store is clearly more interested in laying down rules rather than doing business….

    Reply
  • 2. Guyana-Gyal  |  June 27, 2006 at 9:08 am

    Maybe they don’t have enough staff to clean up the changing rooms at the end of the day. So they get customers to do it for free. By threatening them.

    Reply
  • 3. Scratchie  |  June 27, 2006 at 11:05 am

    Signs like those makes it easy for me to decide where I purchase my clothes. Not saying there should not be common etiquette but I am not begging the store to sell me anything, in fact I think the store benefits from my purchase….or am I mistaken?

    Reply
  • 4. Beaver  |  June 27, 2006 at 11:28 am

    Mwa ha ha ! :o)

    Congrats on your technical prowess! This looks great !

    Reply
  • 5. CoolDestiny  |  July 1, 2006 at 1:10 pm

    What stupid store is that?

    Reply
  • 6. Kingston Girl  |  July 4, 2006 at 3:25 pm

    Candy Apple – it can have some good stuff which is a bit different… if you can deal with searching all day and are feeling rich!

    Reply
  • 7. Gela's Words  |  July 4, 2006 at 7:50 pm

    this is funny but it underscores service in Jamaica. They think they are doing us a favour, not that we are paying their salaries.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
June 2006
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 55,219 hits

