Friday musings

June 23, 2006 at 3:49 pm 5 comments

A collegue brought in her Avon book yesterday. I had a look through it and ordered a couple of things. I liked quite a fewthings but made choices. Decided against spending too much… despite being constantly reminded that ‘you don’t have to pay until after next month’s pay day!’

Another collegue (a very junior collegue, single, with a kid, earning a heck of a lot less than me) also looked through it. She saw lots of things she liked. So she ordered them all – 4 pairs of shoes, 5 handbags, toiletries, perfume… This is the same person who will complain about not having any money for her bus fare.

I thought to myself that we need to introduce some serious money management classes into schools. Teaching people about learning to say no. Learning not to buy everything you like. Waiting to see how things go etc.

But thinking about it later, I think that maybe there isn’t really a need for this. Afterall, it’s not like she will be paying – I am sure she’ll find some man to give her the money! And apparently, men like being asked for money for shopping more than they like being asked for money for bus fare.

Oh well, as I would hate to ask a man for money, I guess I can’t try out that theory!

Enjoy the weekend!

Entry filed under: On life as it is only in Jamaica, On nothing in particular.

More hours in the day Attempts at shopping

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mad Bull  |  June 23, 2006 at 9:51 pm

    So, not even ah icy mint you will let a man buy you? C’mon now…

    Reply
  • 2. Beaver  |  June 24, 2006 at 2:25 pm

    Go girl! I’ve never been a fan of asking money to a man, even my dad!

    On the other hand, I beg to differ: your idea of introducing money management in schools is great and highly necessary. Think of all the people a little budget training could save from mass in-debtment (is that even how it’s spelled?)

    Have a nice weekend !

    Beav’

    Reply
  • 3. Kingston Girl  |  June 24, 2006 at 3:21 pm

    OK, will be more specific! I will let the man buy me things or give me presents – but that is very different in my opinion to asking outright for money! And I do also like to ensure that sometimes I can buy something for him as well!

    Reply
  • 4. Dr. D.  |  June 27, 2006 at 7:20 am

    I like your approach.

    Indeed, there are lots of people who seem to spend (especially on credit) when they are financially embarressed! Makes no sense to me….

    Reply
  • 5. Guyana-Gyal  |  June 27, 2006 at 9:04 am

    I totally agree about teaching about money management in school.

    There’s a book I once read, it looks at the way we think about money, what we learnt in childhood, and how we can change the negative ways we think about / deal with money…it’s called The 7 stages of money maturity. It’s easy to read and it’s brilliant.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
June 2006
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 55,219 hits

