Adventures in my little car

June 13, 2006 at 11:29 am 11 comments

I have a nice little car. We get on well. It can fit into a multitude of small parking spaces, it doesn’t use much petrol and I think it is cute. Being proud of a little car goes against most people’s views in Jamaica. Most people love big cars and SUVs – all the better for fighting taxis and scaring pedestrians. Apparently liking a small car is my European side coming out…

However, my poor little car sometimes has hardships to deal with. Like on Friday night. I was out with my friends and dropped one of them home afterwards. I was coming out of her drive-way when a mad taxi-driver (did I need to say mad – taximen are all mad) decided to break the world landspeed record driving down the road towards me. So I had to move out of his way prompto. In doing so, I managed to catch the kurb… I headed on my way up the road but quickly decided that I couldn’t really ignore the dragging feeling and the klunking noise and pulled over at the top of the road. Me, on my own, after dark … not a good feeling.

As soon as I pulled over, 5 young men appeared, all shouting ‘I’m a mechanic.’ I am convinced that every bush in Jamaica has a mechanic hiding behind it – if you ever break down, they magically appear out of the bushes – do they spend all day sitting there and hoping someone will need their skills?? They all said they could help – all I needed to do was get out and talk to them and see things etc.

Now, it was the end of a long and stressful week. And I was not in the mood. And I didn’t feel inclined to have to deal with the chat, the stares, the requests for ‘a money’… not even thinking of the safety ideas of standing on a roadside on my own with the gang late at night! So I did what all good girls in Kingston would do in this situation – I called for re-enforcements. And within 3 minutes, the get-over man* appeared to rescue me. So I re-enforced every stereotype these guys had – little white girl, alone and scared at night, makes call on pretty baby pink razor cell phone (it was a gift!!!) and gets rescued by a man in a big pick-up.

Ooops. Usually I am independent and try and would deal with it myself with the help of all the mechanics – but not after that week. I took the easy way out and did a damsal in distress act.

So to make up for it, today I took my car myself to have its road fitness done. I joined all the queues, stood in the hot sun, waited (im)patiently, and walked away with the certificate myself. I did note that of the 20 or so people I saw there doing the same thing as me, there was only one other woman – and she had her man with her! So now I am feeling proud of myself again!

* The get-over man is still around. I keep thinking I should change his status, upgrade his title to bf – and then I chicken out. I like the fun and light-heartedness that comes with being uncommitted for once in my life!

Entry filed under: On dating and relationships or lack there of, On life as it is only in Jamaica.

Being deserted A quick post…

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dr. D.  |  June 13, 2006 at 5:11 pm

    Give the ‘get over’ man a chance and upgrade him status fe real.

    Where did you stop the car?

    I did the Fitness Cert. for my car before I went on leave, I was pleasantly surprised to see the process take about 40 minutes. In addition, you can now pay the fee at the same place by Debit/Credit card. Shudda been able to do so long time.

    Reply
  • 2. Mad Bull  |  June 13, 2006 at 9:07 pm

    Like how he is still around after so much time its likely that he has upgraded his status himself (even if its only in his own mind)! What do you think?

    Reply
  • 3. Stunner  |  June 14, 2006 at 5:14 am

    Give the yute a chance an upgrade him.

    Small cars are good for the gas econ, but I would love a SUV for these damn disasterous tracks they call roads here in Jamaica.

    Reply
  • 4. cream  |  June 14, 2006 at 10:38 am

    Go, Girl go!
    If you need the getover man to get over a breakdown, then chances are he might the right person to upgrade…

    Reply
  • 5. Kingston Girl  |  June 14, 2006 at 10:40 am

    I notice it is only my male readers who are commenting – and they are all in favour of the get-over man!

    Is there a male support system going on??

    Reply
  • 6. De Immigrant  |  June 14, 2006 at 6:58 pm

    I agree with MB, the Mr Getover done upgrade himself long time! Then again he is probably enjoying the non-commital thing even more!
    Have his cake and eat it too? why not!

    Reply
  • 7. Beaver  |  June 15, 2006 at 1:05 pm

    Labels suck! If you re comfy the way you are, stick to it.

    You can label the get-over man later, and if possible, never.

    (You could, however, do him a favor and un-grade him, by giving him a nick that would un-label your interactions.)

    Much love,

    Unlabeled Beaver

    Reply
  • 8. Kingston Girl  |  June 15, 2006 at 1:09 pm

    glad to see you’re alive beaver! it’s nice to have female view – although the male views are interesting!

    He doesn’t know he’s labelled as the ‘get-over man’ – he’s just unlabelled really… but I do need something to call him on here as can’t really use his real name!

    Reply
  • 9. CoolDestiny  |  June 18, 2006 at 4:25 pm

    Welcome to the ranks of independent women. I have done the fitness thing since I had a car of my own a total of 3 years now. I hate the way they examiners drive your car though. I know they are testing for fitness but goodness gracious, dem can tek time!

    As for the “get-over man”, don’t rush into anything until you’re ready. If you are, then upgrade by all means!

    Reply
  • 10. owen  |  June 29, 2006 at 7:37 pm

    As a man myself I aggree with the men in say that the get over man should be upgraded for crying out loud because we have the same problem he is having everyday – living in limbo.

    Reply
  • 11. Duppy-Conqueror  |  July 26, 2006 at 6:27 pm

    no need to upgrade him — he’s upgraded himself in his mind — let his ego do the work for you and carry on with your noncomittal business.

    those examiners have identity problems — they see the car as a way of reliving fantasies about how rough and manly they are. They probably treat their girlfriends same way they treat our cars.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
June 2006
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 55,273 hits

