Rain and more rain

June 9, 2006 at 9:59 am 2 comments

I was driving to work this morning and came upon an unexpected traffic jam. Note the word unexpected. I come across many traffic jams in a morning but the large majority of them are expected and predictable – this one wasn’t.

So I start to look around, assuming that there is a broken down car somewhere. But there wasn’t one to be seen.

So I look for another reason – maybe a fire somewhere (obviously not – it was raining hard), a broken water main, a garbage truck… but nothing.

So I keep crawling along in the traffic until I reach the front of the queue and discover what the problem is.

A pothole.

A nice fresh big crater pothole.

The type that stretches all the way across the road.

The pothole that will blow your tyres, take off your bumper and cause nuff damage to your front end.

You know the type.

Thank you rain for the latest addition to the roads of Kingston!

Entry filed under: On life as it is only in Jamaica.

Conversations Being deserted

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dr. D.  |  June 12, 2006 at 9:17 pm

    Where is this one located? Let me know so I can save my front end from disaster! Please.

    Reply
  • 2. Kingston Girl  |  June 13, 2006 at 12:08 pm

    This one was on one of the cuts through from Red Hills to Molynes … avoid falling into it at all costs!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
June 2006
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 55,219 hits

