Conversations

June 2, 2006 at 2:18 pm 9 comments

Have you ever seen some people talk on their cell phones? You know, the ones who are obviously a bit confused about how the thing works? They hold it to their ear and listen first. Then they move it close to their mouth to talk into it – but of course they have to move it bck to their ear to listen again. So the whole conversation goes up and down and up and down.

Today I saw someone doing that. However, this person obviously cared about appearances as they were doing it with a brand new phone – the slver which is only just available in Jamaica. So up and down this posh new phone was going.

I did feel like going over and tellling them that as they had paid so much for the phone, they could be sure that it had a strong enough receiver to pick up their voice without having to move it from their ear or yelling….

But I decided not to give them that helpful piece of advice and kept walking on my way.

Entry filed under: On life as it is only in Jamaica.

Bahamas – photos Rain and more rain

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. De Immigrant  |  June 3, 2006 at 9:25 am

    They do that in Jamaica too?!?
    I see some people doing that up here in Atlanta and think to myself “What an idiot!!”, I hate to see it happening!

    Reply
  • 2. MisterCalabash  |  June 3, 2006 at 3:37 pm

    I see this, too. I always think the person doesn’t have enough sense to know the difference between a walktie-talkie radio and a telephone.

    Reply
  • 3. Jade  |  June 3, 2006 at 7:09 pm

    When I see people doing that, I figure their phone must be broken – you know, that it only works on speaker or something like that. I honestly never figured that they might think this is the way the phone should be used.

    Reply
  • 4. Mad Bull  |  June 4, 2006 at 6:46 am

    I think they do it when they want to talk really quietly to the person on the other end… at least I am hoping thats what it is…

    Reply
  • 5. Anonymous  |  June 5, 2006 at 1:25 pm

    I laughed out loud reading about the telephone antics of that person. The whole “ear to mouth to ear” thing is DELIBERATE. It’s a part of the “Bling” crowd’s antics

    Reply
  • 6. Anonymous  |  June 6, 2006 at 3:29 pm

    The eyes are drawn to movement. If they weren’t moving it up and down like a mad person how else would they ensure that everyone knows they have the newest, overpriced phone on the market?

    Reply
  • 7. Yamfoot  |  June 7, 2006 at 7:59 pm

    But they do that on The Apprentice too. Isnt it like they’re speakign on speaker phone???

    Anyway, my phone, whenever I take it out, people say something like “you know they have modern phones now you know”. Well i can hear perfectly well with it, and it makes calls and sends text messages,. that is all I need!

    Reply
  • 8. Life's Student  |  June 11, 2006 at 10:04 pm

    i think its a deliberate to look cool…u know the cool people are cool because they do things differently from “ordinary” people so that’s what that’s about…i find it funny though

    Reply
  • 9. Dr. D.  |  June 12, 2006 at 9:19 pm

    Sigh…cell phones….one of modern man’s great inventions and disasters at the same time…..–>

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
June 2006
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 55,273 hits

