My 100th Post!

May 20, 2006 at 9:01 am 10 comments

I am in the process of preparing for my trip to Bahamas – I am filling my MP3 player to keep me amused on the flights so am writing while loading!

I drove home about 9 last night and had to stop at traffic lights. At these traffic lights, there is always a guy sellling his drawings. They are usually very inspid drawings, pictures of streams with colours never seen on this planet, pictures of ‘pretty girls’ (i.e. light brown skin, barbie figure and very long hair) or bad copies of a car he has seen in a magazine somewhere. But yesterday, he had something different on display – a ‘romaniticised’ picture of our Prime Minsiter, Portia Simpson Miller. She had some nice long flowing hair (and while Portia’s hair is always immaculate, it never looks like it would move of its own accord) and she had some very light brown skin!

While I am very pleased that Portia won the Presidential race as I feel it reflected the will of most Jamaicans, I am worried for her. Everyone has these high ideals for her, views of the amazing changes that she will bring about, convinced she will solve crime and poverty. Yet she has no more resources to work with than an other Prime Minister has had and has the same harsh international environment to deal with. I wish her luck.

While sitting here writing this, I have heard a lady walk past my gate. She was calling out at the top of her voice

‘Slippers, $50
Brand name Slippers, $100
Panites, $50.’

(NB – US$1 = JA$65)

I was tempted to go out and look, see if I could find something nice for my trip! But I resisted.

Entry filed under: On going to foreign, On life as it is only in Jamaica, On politicing and current events.

Brief summaries Back from the Bahamas

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Beaver  |  May 20, 2006 at 1:54 pm

    Happy 100th!

    Was that panites or panties?
    (And why in the world would you be tempted to buy panties on the street?)
    And what the heck are panites?

    *confused*

    Reply
  • 2. Anonymous  |  May 20, 2006 at 8:47 pm

    i guess you drive through manor park to get home
    hmmm

    Reply
  • 3. Mad Bull  |  May 20, 2006 at 9:02 pm

    That guy’s drawings are AWFUL, aren’t they? I guess he is a crackhead or something. I bucked up another one of them down by Captain’s Bakery just above Cross Roads, or actually at the tyre place across the street… now he was an accompplished artist. He drew a picture of me while I was paying for the Tyres (not selecting them or anything, just the time I was at the cashier and it was a VERY good likeness. I was so surprised , I gave him a J$100, whereupon he disappeared like a puff of smoke! I guess they had a crack dealer nearby.
    I think I still have that drawing somewhere…

    Reply
  • 4. cream  |  May 21, 2006 at 4:11 am

    I’ll have a dozen panites, whatever they may be!

    Reply
  • 5. Kingston Girl  |  May 21, 2006 at 11:34 am

    Oops, sorry – they would have been ‘PANTIES’!

    I’m always tempted to go out and look – a bargain is a bargain. However, the only time I have ever looked, I started itching just from the sight of the fake satin and lace.

    Reply
  • 6. Beaver  |  May 22, 2006 at 7:41 pm

    Eeeeeeew! Street panties! Are they second hand?

    *shudders*

    Reply
  • 7. Trouble  |  May 23, 2006 at 3:36 pm

    When you’re appointed by God… Who needs resources…

    Street lady gonna put Victoria’s Secrets outa business…

    Reply
  • 8. Dr. D.  |  May 23, 2006 at 4:55 pm

    “I started itching just from the sight of the fake satin and lace.”

    I suspect that you would probably itch even more if you were to buy those undies….and might I suggest need the services of a dermatologist! ;-0

    That guy with the paintings does not even bother to stop by my car anymore…I guess him mark mi face!

    Enjoy your trip.

    Reply
  • 9. juliana  |  May 27, 2006 at 9:22 am

    LOL, street panties.

    I need to go back home to Jamaica… 😦

    Reply
  • 10. Buffy  |  May 29, 2006 at 1:32 pm

    Love the street panties comment juliana!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
May 2006
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,219 hits

