Brief summaries

May 16, 2006 at 5:22 pm 6 comments

Life has been busy – that tends to be the case when I am not posting. It also means that lots of things have been going on which would make intersting stories, but unfortunately all I have time for now is some very brief highlights!! I went on a Jamaica Geographical Society trip the other week to the Goat Islands. It actually was more of an ‘expedition’, complete with ancient ruins, smuggling routes, getting lost in a forest, finding our way out with GPS and being rescued by boats. Excellent time was had by all, with the day ending in a fish place with well earnt cold red stripes. Was on retreat this weekend with a group of young people. It was at an all-inclusive hotel complete with ‘authentic jamaican entertainment’, i.e. Peter the Fire Man. Hmmm, always amusing and our young peopel joined in the fun! We also had a session on HIV / AIDS awareness, complete with a fake vagina – never seen one of those before. Next week I’m off to the Bahamas for work which would be great aside from the amount of crap we have to do to get ready for it – I hate paperwork so if I see another claim form for a per diem, I am going to scream. So I had better go and rescue myself from a pile of paper which is attacking me… if you don’t hear from me for a while, it’s because I’ve drowned!

Entry filed under: On being a working girl, On going to foreign, On leaving the city behind, On life as it is only in Jamaica.

Tagged! My 100th Post!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. POZ Network  |  May 16, 2006 at 9:53 pm

    If anyone reads this, I am POZ (AIDS) and I run a HIV support chat site on http://www.13km.com where you can chat with me or other members (share experiences, discuss treatments, encouragement, etc).

    Reply
  • 2. juliana  |  May 17, 2006 at 6:55 pm

    Good luck with everything and please don’t drown. I’ll miss your writing.

    Reply
  • 3. Dr. D.  |  May 17, 2006 at 10:14 pm

    Would love to see some pics or hear some more about the Goat Island Trip.

    Enjoy the trip to the Bahamas and I just sent you a floatation device (usually kept under your your seat in an aircraft) so that you will not drown and be here to continue posting.

    Reply
  • 4. cream  |  May 18, 2006 at 11:39 am

    Lucky girl! Enjoy work and play, KG!

    Reply
  • 5. Beaver  |  May 18, 2006 at 8:25 pm

    To quote Tina: Respira, Respira !

    It’ll all be ok. Don’t forget to take TIME for YOU.

    Cheers !

    Beav’

    Reply
  • 6. Scratchie  |  May 19, 2006 at 8:47 am

    Enjoy the Bahamas….no drowning roun ere….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Free at last! Alan Johnston banner

About me

I'm a twenty-something year old girl living in Kingston, Jamaica. These are some stories from my life.
May 2006
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 55,273 hits

